Crusaders head coach Scott Robertson has made seven changes to his starting lineup for their week 11 clash with the Brumbies in Canberra.


In the pack, All Black Codie Taylor returns to the starting line-up in place of injured hooker Ben Funnell, and Andrew Makalio will once again provide cover on the bench.

Sam Whitelock resumes his captaincy and partners with Scott Barrett in the second row while Heiden Bedwell-Curtis and Jordan Taufua return to the loose forward trio in the No. 6 and No. 8 jerseys respectively.

Bryn Hall gets the nod at halfback and Mitch Drummond takes a spot on the bench. Seta Tamanivalu starts on the left wing on Saturday night in place of his nephew, Manasa Mataele, who will hope to make an impact from the bench.

The midfield combination of Ryan Crotty and Tim Bateman remains unchanged, and Israel Dagg will once again start on the right wing following his successful return to play last weekend.

David Havili completes the line-up this week at fullback in place of George Bridge – with both players having played the most minutes of anyone in the team this season.

For the Brumbies, it’s set to be a special night for co-captain Sam Carter as he brings up his century with the club.


Carter will lead the team from the second row and will become the club’s 12th centurion.

Head coach Dan McKellar has made two changes to his starting side, after losing star loose forward David Pocock to a calf strain.

After a back row reshuffle, Blake Enever will slot into the number six jersey with Tom Cusack moving to the other side of the scrum.

In the backline, centre Andrew Smith will start his first game since last season’s quarterfinal.


Among the replacements, prop Ben Alexander in line to win his 148th cap if called upon. Faalelei Sione joins Alexander as front row cover.

Lolo Fakaosilea is set for his first Super Rugby action this season, whilst Andy Muirhead is named in place of Andrew Smith on the bench as Kyle Godwin drops out of the side.


1. Tim Perry, 2. Codie Taylor, 3. Owen Franks, 4. Scott Barrett, 5. Sam Whitelock (C), 6. Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, 7. Matt Todd (VC), 8. Jordan Taufua, 9. Bryn Hall, 10. Mike Delany, 11. Seta Tamanivalu, 12. Ryan Crotty (VC), 13. Tim Bateman, 14. Israel Dagg, 15. David Havili.
Reserves: 16. Andrew Makalio, 17. Wyatt Crockett, 18. Michael Alaalatoa, 19. Luke Romano, 20. Pete Samu, 21. Mitchell Drummond, 22. Mitchell Hunt, 23. Manasa Mataele.


1. Scott Sio, 2. Folau Fainga’a, 3. Allan Alaalatoa, 4. Rory Arnold, 5. Sam Carter (C), 6. Blake Enever, 7. Tom Cusack, 8. Isi Naisarani, 9. Joe Powell, 10. Wharenui Hawera, 11. Chance Peni, 12. Andrew Smith, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 14. Henry Speight, 15. Tom Banks.
Reserves: 16. Robbie Abel, 17. Faalelei Sione, 18. Ben Alexander, 19. Darcy Swain, 20. Lolo Fakaosilea, 21. Matt Lucas, 22. Jordan Jackson-Hope, 23. Andy Muirhead.

Mailing List

Sign up to our mailing list for a weekly digest from the wide world of rugby.

Sign Up Now