Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



Van der Merwe's heroics silence the Twickenham masses

A try for the ages lights up a thrilling opening weekend of Six Nations rugby as Scotland, Ireland and France register away wins

RugbyPass+ Home

Gallagher Premiership 2018/19: Ins and Outs

By Alex Shaw
Ins and Outs (1)

July is here and teams up and down the country are heading back into preseason and beginning their preparations for the 2018/19 season.


We have collated all the ins and outs at the 12 Gallagher Premiership clubs ahead of the new season, with some stellar signings set to grace the competition over the coming year.



Ins: Will Chudley (Exeter Chiefs), Joe Cokanasiga (London Irish), Alex Davies (Yorkshire Carnegie), Victor Delmas (Colomiers), Ruaridh McConnochie (England 7s), Jamie Roberts (Harlequins) and Jackson Willison (Worcester Warriors)


Outs: Nick Auterac (Harlequins), Matt Banahan (Gloucester), Nathan Charles (Melbourne Rebels), Will Homer (Jersey), Rory Jennings (London Scottish), Shaun Knight (Rouen), Josh Lewis (Dragons), Kane Palma-Newport (Colomiers), Ben Tapuai (Harlequins) and Jeff Williams.



Bristol Bears

Ins: John Afoa (Gloucester), Jake Armstrong (Jersey Reds), Luke Daniels (Ealing Trailfinders), Tiff Eden (Nottingham), Jake Heenan (Connacht), Ed Holmes (Exeter Chiefs), James Lay (Bay of Plenty), Jordan Lay (Edinburgh), Tom Lindsay (Bedford Blues), Shaun Malton (Exeter Chiefs), Aly Muldowney (Grenoble), Piers O’Conor (Ealing Trailfinders), Tom Pincus (Jersey Reds), Charles Piutau (Ulster), Harry Randall (Gloucester), George Smith (Queensland Reds), Nic Stirzaker (Melbourne Rebels), Harry Thacker (Leicester Tigers), Lewis Thiede (Ealing Trailfinders), Yann Thomas (Rouen) and Jake Woolmore (Jersey Reds).



Outs: Ryan Bevington (Dragons), Gaston Cortes (Leicester Tigers), Max Crumpton (Harlequins), Tyler Gendall (Cornish Pirates), Alex Giltrow, Ryan Glynn, Ben Gompels, Jason Harris-Wright, David Lemi, Jordon Liney, Ross McMillan, Giorgi Nemsadze (Ospreys), James Newey, Jack O’Connell (Ealing Trailfinders), Thretton Palamo, Olly Robinson (Cardiff Blues), Billy Searle (Wasps), Soana Tonga’uiha (Ampthill), Dan Tuohy (Vannes), Jack Wallace (Richmond), Jordan Williams and Rhodri Williams (both Dragons).


Exeter Chiefs

Ins: Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues).

Outs: Will Chudley (Bath), Ed Holmes (Bristol Bears), Kai Horstmann (retired), Shaun Malton (Bristol Bears), Julian Salvi (retired) and Thomas Waldrom (Wellington Lions).



Ins: Matt Banahan (Bath), Danny Cipriani (Wasps), Ruan Dreyer (Lions), Todd Gleave (London Irish), Gerbrandt Grobler (Munster), Jaco Kriel (Lions), Franco Marais (Sharks) and Franco Mostert (Lions).


Outs: John Afoa (Bristol Bears), Charlie Beckett (Jersey Reds), Ed Bogue (Cinderford), Elliott Creed (Doncaster Knights), Tom Denton (Ealing Trailfinders), David Halaifonua (Coventry), Richard Hibbard (Dragons), Motu Matu’u (London Irish), Ross Moriarty (Dragons), Alfie North, Cameron Orr (Western Force), Carwyn Penny, Harry Randall (Bristol Bears), Jacob Rowan, Matt Scott (Edinburgh), Andy Symons (Northampton Saints), Jeremy Thrush (Western Force) and Mason Tonks.

Danny Cipriani kicks for the posts



Ins: Nick Auterac (Bath), Max Crumpton (Bristol Bears), Alex Dombrandt (Cardiff Met), Nathan Earle (Saracens), Matt Symons (Wasps) and Ben Tapuai (Bath).


Outs: Sam Aspland-Robinson (Leicester Tigers), Cameron Holenstein (Jersey Reds), Adam Jones (retired), Charlie Matthews (Wasps), Jamie Roberts (Bath), Harry Sloan (Ealing Trailfinders) and Winston Stanley (retired).

Nic Auterac


Leicester Tigers

Ins: Sam Aspland-Robinson (Harlequins), Gaston Cortes (Bristol Bears), David Denton, Will Spencer (both Worcester Warriors), Jimmy Stevens (Nottingham), Guy Thompson (Wasps) and James Voss (Jersey Reds).


Outs: Dom Barrow (Northampton Saints), Ben Betts (Ealing Trailfinders), George Catchpole (retired), Luke Hamilton (Edinburgh), Joe Maksymiw (Connacht), Nick Malouf (Australia 7s), George McGuigan, Logovi’i Mulipola (both Newcastle Falcons), Michele Rizzo (Petrarca) and Harry Thacker (Bristol Bears).

Departing Worcester Warriors number eight David Denton


Newcastle Falcons

Ins: Tom Arscott (Rouen), Connor Collett (North Harbour), Guy Graham (Hawick), George McGuigan, Logovi’i Mulipola (both Leicester Tigers), Nemani Nagusa (Aurillac) and Johnny Williams (London Irish).


Outs: Belisario Agulla (Hindu Club), Nick Civetta (Doncaster Knights), Ally Hogg (retired), Jake Ilnicki (Yorkshire Carnegie), Nili Latu (Hino Red Dolphins), Scott Lawson (retired), Maxime Mermoz (Toulouse), Evan Olmstead (Auckland), Harrison Orr (Western Force), Juan Pablo Socino (Edinburgh), D. T. H. van der Merwe (Glasgow Warriors), Rob Vickers (retired) and Craig Willis (Ealing Trailfinders).

Video Spacer


Northampton Saints

Ins: Dom Barrow (Leicester Tigers), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Charlie Davies (Dragons), Will Davis (Ealing Trailfinders), Ben Franks (London Irish), James Haskell (Wasps), Andrew Kellaway, Taqele Naiyaravoro (both Waratahs), Andy Symons (Gloucester) and Matt Worley (Racing 92).


Outs: Matt Beesley (Ealing Trailfinders), Kieran Brookes (Wasps), Charlie Clare (Bedford Blues), Christian Day (retired), Jamie Elliott, Juan Pablo Estelles, Ben Foden, Nic Groom (Lions), Rob Horne (retired), Tom Kessell, Campese Ma’afu (Ealing Trailfinders), Stephen Myler (London Irish), George North (Ospreys), Ben Nutley (Coventry), Jordan Onojaife (Ealing Trailfinders), Michael Paterson and Tom Stephenson (London Irish).


Sale Sharks

Ins: Chris Ashton (Toulon), Joe Jones (Perpignan), James Phillips (Bath) and Rohan Janse van Rensburg (Lions).


Outs: Will Addison (Ulster), Halani Aulika (Grenoble), Josh Charnley (Warrington Wolves), Mike Haley (Munster) and David Seymour (retired).

Video Spacer



Ins: Alex Lewington (London Irish), David Strettle (Clermont) and Tom Woolstencroft (London Irish).


Outs: Schalk Brits (retired), Danny Cutmore (Cornish Pirates), Nathan Earle (Harlequins), Mike Ellery, Mark Flanagan (Bedford Blues), Matt Hankin, Kieran Longbottom (Western Force) and Chris Wyles (retired).



Ins: Joe Atkinson (London Scottish), Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints), Nizaam Carr (Stormers), Ambrose Curtis (Manawatu), Michael Le Bourgeois (Bedford Blues), Charlie Matthews (Harlequins), Ben Morris (Nottingham), Ross Neal (London Scottish), Billy Searle (Bristol Bears), Brad Shields (Hurricanes), Lima Sopoaga (Highlanders) and Zurab Zhvania (Stade Français).


Outs: Guy Armitage (Ealing Trailfinders), Danny Cipriani (Gloucester), Paul Doran-Jones, Kyle Eastmond, James Haskell (Northampton Saints), Brendan Macken, Marty Moore (Ulster), Will Owen (Nottingham), Matt Symons (Harlequins) and Guy Thompson (Leicester Tigers).

Kieron Brookes is joining Premiership club Wasps


Worcester Warriors

Ins: Ashley Beck (Ospreys), Callum Black (Ulster), Cornell du Preez (Edinburgh), Michael Fatialofa (Hurricanes), Michael Heaney (Doncaster Knights), Jono Lance (Queensland Reds), Isaac Miller (London Scottish), Scott van Breda (Jersey Reds), Francois Venter (Cheetahs) and Duncan Weir (Edinburgh).


Outs: Biyi Alo (Angouléme), David Denton (Leicester Tigers), Michael Dowsett (Canon Eagles), Andrew Durutalo (Ealing Trailfinders), Grayson Hart (London Scottish), Kurt Haupt (SWD Eagles), Tom Heathcote, Ben Howard (England 7s), Donncha O’Callaghan (retired), Sam Olver (Ealing Trailfinders), Will Spencer (Leicester Tigers), Max Stelling (Hino Red Dolphins), Peter Stringer (retired), Huw Taylor (Dragons) and Jackson Willison (Bath).

Video Spacer


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Borthwick has to ditch the Smith/Farrell axis - Andy Goode Borthwick has to ditch the Smith/Farrell axis