Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Scotland name a 42-strong squad that includes 12 uncapped players

By Liam Heagney
(Photo by Loic Baratoux/SNS Group via Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Scotland boss Gregor Townsend has included a dozen uncapped players in his squad of 42 for the Autumn Nations Series featuring games versus Tonga, Australia, South Africa and Japan. The Scots had a min-training camp earlier this week featuring their Scottish-based players and Sharks’ Dylan Richardson, but they have now unveiled a squad that includes all their Lions tour picks. 


That contingent contains captain Stuart Hogg, half-back pairing Ali Price and Finn Russell, centre Chris Harris, winger Duhan van der Merwe, flanker Hamish Watson as well as props Zander Fagerson and Rory Sutherland following their involvement in the series versus the Springboks.

Townsend has also selected twelve uncapped players for the Scotland squad following their initial involvement in the training group this week. Ewan Ashman, Josh Bayliss, Rory Darge, Richardson, Luke Crosbie, Jamie Hodgson, Marshall Sykes and Pierre Schoeman feature in the pack with Glasgow providing all four uncapped backs in Rufus McLean, Jamie Dobie, Ross Thompson and Sione Tuipulotu.

Video Spacer

See Louis Rees-Zammit as you have never seen him before
Video Spacer
See Louis Rees-Zammit as you have never seen him before

Townsend said: “It’s exciting to bring together a blend of highly experienced and uncapped players. There have been some notable performances from both our home-based players and those at clubs outside of Scotland, which has enabled us as coaches to select a group which are playing well and will be motivated across the four games.

“We also feel that the right time to bring in some younger players given their early-season form. They have created opportunities for themselves to represent their country and we believe that they will thrive in the Test match environment.”

Forwards (23):
Ewan Ashman – Sale Sharks – uncapped
Josh Bayliss – Bath Rugby – uncapped
Jamie Bhatti – Glasgow Warriors – 18 caps
Fraser Brown – Glasgow Warriors – 54 caps
Luke Crosbie – Edinburgh Rugby – uncapped
Rory Darge – Glasgow Warriors – uncapped
Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 13 caps
Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 38 caps
Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby – 45 caps
Nick Haining – Edinburgh Rugby – 8 caps
Rob Harley – Glasgow Warriors – 22 caps
Jamie Hodgson – Edinburgh Rugby – uncapped
Oli Kebble – Glasgow Warriors – 8 caps
Murray McCallum – Glasgow Warriors – 3 caps
Stuart McInally – Edinburgh Rugby – 40 caps
Dylan Richardson – Cell C Sharks – uncapped
Jamie Ritchie – Edinburgh Rugby – 27 caps
Sam Skinner – Exeter Chiefs – 12 caps
Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby – uncapped
Rory Sutherland – Worcester Warriors – 16 caps
Marshall Sykes – Edinburgh Rugby – uncapped
George Turner – Glasgow Warriors – 17 caps
Hamish Watson – Edinburgh Rugby – 41 caps


Backs (19):
Mark Bennett – Edinburgh Rugby – 22 caps
Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby – 19 caps
Jamie Dobie – Glasgow Warriors – uncapped
Chris Harris – Gloucester Rugby – 28 caps
Adam Hastings – Gloucester Rugby – 23 caps
Stuart Hogg – Exeter Chiefs – 85 caps
George Horne – Glasgow Warriors – 14 caps
Damien Hoyland – Edinburgh Rugby – 4 caps
Sam Johnson – Glasgow Warriors – 18 caps
Huw Jones – Harlequins – 31 caps
Blair Kinghorn – Edinburgh Rugby – 25 caps
Duhan van der Merwe – Worcester Warriors – 10 caps
Rufus McLean – Glasgow Warriors – uncapped
Ali Price – Glasgow Warriors – 42 caps
Finn Russell – Racing 92 – 55 caps
Matt Scott – Leicester Tigers – 39 caps
Kyle Steyn – Glasgow Warriors – 1 cap
Ross Thompson – Glasgow Warriors – uncapped
Sione Tuipulotu – Glasgow Warriors – uncapped


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Nigel Owens is back in rugby after landing new role Nigel Owens lands key new job back in rugby