Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



Welsh rugby enveloped in its latest existential crisis

As Wayne Pivac teeters on the edge of finding new gainful employment after a series of disappointing results, the wider-lens story tells of dysfunction and frustration

RugbyPass+ Home

Just five non-All Blacks selected in fan-voted all-time XV

By Sam Smith
Dan Carter and Richie McCaw were veterans of the game when they guided New Zealand to 2015 World Cup glory (Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

Only five non-All Blacks, three of whom are Springboks, have been voted into a fan-selected all-time XV conducted by RugbyPass.


Home to the greatest rugby players of all-time, the RugbyPass Hall of Fame acknowledges and recognises the outstanding efforts of the trailblazers from the amateur era through to the global stars who light up the sport to this day.

Over the course of the past three weeks, players from past and present have been inducted into the Hall of Fame, with fans given the chance to vote for who they believe to be the best in each position from loosehead prop to fullback.

Video Spacer

RugbyPass Offload | Episode 14
Video Spacer
RugbyPass Offload | Episode 14

Voting is a continuous process, meaning there will never be a finalised all-time XV as fans will always have the chance to have their say and vote for new or existing inductees, opening up the possibility for changes to the Fan 1st XV in the future.

However, after the induction of the game’s greatest fullbacks on Friday, the initial RugbyPass Hall of Fame All-Time Fan 1st XV was completed, with the team dominated by current and former All Blacks.

In fact, only five players – three South Africans, one Irishman and one Georgian – have bucked the trend of Kiwi domination, which is evident throughout the composite side.

Two of the team’s three front rowers are All Blacks, with former New Zealand captain Sean Fitzpatrick and All Blacks centurion Owen Franks accompanying two-time World Cup-winning Springboks great Os du Randt up front.


The second row is an all-South African affair, with current Springboks star Eben Etzebeth joined by ex-captain Victor Matfield as the locks.

Former All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw has earned the most votes of any inductee thus far to spearhead a loose forward trio that also features compatriot Jerome Kaino at blindside flanker and Georgian icon Mamuka Gorgodze at No 8.

The backline, meanwhile, is almost entirely made up of New Zealanders, with 2015 World Cup-winning All Blacks halves duo Aaron Smith and Dan Carter voted into the No 9 and No 10 jerseys.

Their long-time former teammate Ma’a Nonu has been voted into second-five, where he forms half of a midfield combination with Ireland legend Brian O’Driscoll, who is the only non-All Black in the backline.


The late great Jonah Lomu currently holds the left wing spot, while former All Blacks speedster Doug Howlett holds a slender lead over Australia’s best-ever try-scorer David Campese to take his place on the right wing.

Christian Cullen, one of rugby’s greatest ball-running threats, caps off the team with his selection at No 15 after the induction of 13 fullbacks at the end of last week.

Given all those who have been voted into the composite team played during rugby’s professional era, the RugbyPass Pros Fan 1st XV is identical to that of its All-Time Fans 1st XV, but its Amateur Fan 1st XV has a distinctly different feel to it.

Of those included in the All-Time Fan 1st XV, only three players – Du Randt, Fitzpatrick and Lomu – are also part of the Amateur Fan 1st XV, making it a far more diverse side than the All-Time side.

Joining Du Randt and Fitzpatrick in the Amateur Fan 1st XV’s front row is former Welsh tighthead Graham Price, while World Cup-winning captains Martin Johnson of England and John Eales of Australia pair up to form the team’s second row.

An overhauled loose forward trio sees World Cup-winning Springboks skipper Francois Pienaar accompany All Blacks duo Michael Jones and Zinzan Brooke in the back row.

In the backline, Springboks pair Joost van der Westhuizen and Naas Botha have been voted in at halfback and first-five, while two-time World Cup-winning Wallabies great Tim Horan joins South African great Danie Geber in the midfield.

Lomu, meanwhile, is part of an outside back trio that also features Campese and flamboyant French star Serge Blanco, meaning the RugbyPass Hall of Fame Amateur Fan 1st XV is made up of players from six countries, only four of whom are All Blacks.

The door remains open for other players to become RugbyPass Hall of Famers, so register now to have your say and vote for your favourite inductee in the Fan 1st XV.

Current RugbyPass Hall of Fame All-Time/Pros Fan 1st XV

1. Os du Randt (South Africa, 1994-2007)
2. Sean Fitzpatrick (New Zealand, 1986-1997)
3. Owen Franks (New Zealand, 2009-2019)
4. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa, 2012-present)
5. Victor Matfield (South Africa, 2001-2015)
6. Jerome Kaino (New Zealand, 2004-2017)
7. Richie McCaw (New Zealand, 2001-2015)
8. Mamuka Gorgodze (Georgia, 2003-2019)
9. Aaron Smith (New Zealand, 2012-present)
10. Dan Carter (New Zealand, 2003-2015)
11. Jonah Lomu (New Zealand, 1994-2002)
12. Ma’a Nonu (New Zealand, 2003-2015)
13. Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland, 1999-2014)
14. Doug Howlett (New Zealand, 2000-2007)
15. Christian Cullen (New Zealand, 1996-2002)

Coach: 20.12.2021
Referee: 21.12.2021
Stadium: 22.12.2021

Current RugbyPass Hall of Fame Amateur Fan 1st XV

1. Os du Randt (South Africa, 1994-2007)
2. Sean Fitzpatrick (New Zealand, 1986-1997)
3. Graham Price (Wales, 1975-1983)
4. Martin Johnson (England, 1993-2003)
5. John Eales (Australia, 1991-2001)
6. Francois Pienaar (South Africa, 1993-1996)
7. Michael Jones (New Zealand, 1987-1998)
8. Zinzan Brooke (New Zealand, 1987-1997)
9. Joost van der Westhuizen (South Africa, 1993-2003)
10. Naas Botha (South Africa, 1980-1992)
11. Jonah Lomu (New Zealand, 1994-2002)
12. Tim Horan (Australia, 1989-2000)
13. Danie Gerber (South Africa, 1980-1992)
14. David Campese (Australia, 1982-1996)
15. Serge Blanco (France, 1980-1991)


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Lawrence Dallaglio demands an apology from England Lawrence Dallaglio demands an apology from England