Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Evan Roos scoops prestigious URC gong

By Kim Ekin
Evan Roos of DHL Stormers before the United Rugby Championship match between Connacht and DHL Stormers at The Sportsground in Galway. (Photo By Harry Murphy/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Stormers standout and Springboks prospect Evan Roos has been awarded a top United Rugby Championship award for players under the age of 23.


Roos has been handed the ‘Next Gen Star’ award after an outstanding season for the Capetonians.

The back row proved a destructive ball carrier with more successful carries (126) and defenders beaten (49) than any other player in the competition over the 18 rounds. His performances this term have seen growing calls for him to be given a chance to shine in the Springbok jersey.

Video Spacer

Battling The Poisonous Welsh Press & An Epic International Comeback | RugbyPass Offload | Episode 37
Video Spacer
Battling The Poisonous Welsh Press & An Epic International Comeback | RugbyPass Offload | Episode 37

A surprise omission from the initial Springboks alignment camp earlier this year, Roos has done his talking on the pitch.

“Well done Evan Roos, that’s how you react to disappointment and make sure you can’t be ignored!” South Africa director of rugby Rassie Erasmus tweeted after his team’s Round 16 victory over Glasgow Warriors, in which Roos had a match-high 10 successful carries, beat five defenders, and scored a late try.

Roos, who extended his regular-season success into the play-offs by turning in a URC Man of the Match performance against Edinburgh Rugby in the Final Eight, appears to be destined for Test honours.

“It is a huge honour to get this award, I am so grateful to everyone who has supported me this season. My family is a great source of strength and pride for me and everyone involved in the DHL Stormers set-up has been amazing as well. I am so proud to play for this team and our incredible fans every week.”


Roos, along with four other DHL Stormers teammates, was chosen to the URC Dream Team earlier this week.

URC Dream Team
1. Ox Nche (Cell C Sharks)
2. Johan Grobbelaar (Vodacom Bulls)
3. Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks)
4. Jean Kleyn (Munster)
5. Ruan Nortje (Vodacom Bulls)
6. Marcell Coetzee (Vodacom Bulls)
7. Nick Timoney (Ulster)
8. Evan Roos (DHL Stormers)
9. Craig Casey (Munster)
10. Ross Byrne (Leinster)
11. Leolin Zas (DHL Stormers)
12. Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers)
13. James Hume (Ulster)
14. Seabelo Senatla (DHL Stormers)
15. Warrick Gelant (DHL Stormers)


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
RUGBYPASS+ Time gentlemen, please Time gentlemen, please