Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Live blog: Super Rugby Pacific round 11

By Finn Morton
(Photo by Ian Hitchcock/Getty Images)

The 11th round of Super Rugby Pacific continues on Saturday when the Reds host the Waratahs in Townsville. Follow the action in our live blog below.


Team news

Lock Isaia Walker-Leawere will play his 50th Super Rugby match when the Hurricanes take on the Fijian Drua on Saturday afternoon.

Coach Jason Holland has only made three changes to the starting XV, including just the one change in the forward pack.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

Justin Sangster will start alongside Walker-Leawere in the second row, while backs Kini Naholo and Billy Proctor take their spots in the run-on side.

In the second game on Saturday, the Crusaders have welcomed back All Black Will Jordan – the speedster will start at fullback for the defending champions.

Jordan missed the All Blacks’ end-of-season tour with an inner-ear issue, and was also ruled out of the opening 10 rounds of the Crusaders’ Super Rugby Pacific campaign.

The Test star joins a star-studded backline which includes the likes of Richie Mo’unga, Leicester Fainga’anuku and David Havili.


Captain Dalton Papali’i will take on roommates Ezekiel Lindenmuth and Sam Slade when the Blues take on cross-town rivals Moana Pasifika at Eden Park.


Dual international Roger Tuivasa-Sheck is set to return following a lengthy stint on the sidelines with a hand injury.

In the final game of the night, the Queensland Reds will host fierce rivals the NSW Waratahs in Townsville.

Both teams have named impressive sides, which includes an exciting matchup at openside flanker between Wallabies Fraser McReight and Michael Hooper.


Round 11 MVP votes (3-2-1)

Highlanders vs Chiefs – Shaun Stevenson (Chiefs), Emoni Narawa (Chiefs), Damian McKenzie (Chiefs)

Drua vs Hurricanes – Frank Lomani (Drua), Selestino Ravutaumada (Drua), Taniela Rakuro (Drua)

Crusaders vs Force – Brodie McAlister (Crusaders), Will Jordan (Crusaders), Leicester Fainga’anuku (Crusaders)

Blues vs Moana – Christian Leali’ifano (Moana), Akira Ioane (Blues), Mike Curry (Moana)

MVP candidates leader board

16 points – Damian McKenzie (Chiefs)

14 points – Shaun Stevenson (Chiefs)

12 points – Richie Mo’unga (Crusaders)

10 points Cam Roigard (Hurricanes)

9 points – Leicester Fainga’anuku (Crusaders)

8 points – Emoni Narawa (Chiefs)

7 points – Aaron Smith (Highlanders)

6 points – Beauden Barrett (Blues), Brodie Retallick (Chiefs), Carter Gordon (Rebels), Hamish Stewart (Force), Jordan Petaia (Reds), Jordie Barrett (Hurricanes), Lachlan Lonergan (Brumbies), Mark Telea (Blues), Richard Hardwick (Rebels), Rob Valetini (Brumbies), Tevita Ikanivere (Drua)

5 points – David Havili (Crusaders), Fraser McReight (Reds), Izaia Perese (Waratahs), Salesi Rayasi (Hurricanes)

4 points – Harry Wilson (Reds), Iosefo Masi (Drua), Josh Flook (Reds), Langi Gleeson (Waratahs), Sam Gilbert (Highlanders), Samisoni Taukei’aho (Chiefs), Tom Wright (Brumbies)

3 points – Andy Muirhead (Brumbies), Asafo Aumua (Hurricanes), Bailyn Sullivan (Hurricanes), Ben O’Donnell (Brumbies), Brodie McAlister (Crusaders), Bryce Hegarty (Force), Cameron Suafoa (Blues), Christian Leali’ifano (Moana), Dalton Papali’i (Blues), Daniel Rona (Chiefs), Du’Plessis Kirifi (Hurricanes), Finlay Christie (Blues), Frank Lomani (Drua), Hoskins Sotutu (Blues), James Slipper (Brumbies), Kini Naholo (Hurricanes), Lachie Anderson (Rebels), Michael Hooper (Waratahs), Monty Ioane (Rebels), Ryan Lonergan (Brumbies), Ricky Riccitelli (Blues), Salestino Ravutaumada (Drua), Tate McDermott (Reds), Thomas Umaga-Jensen (Highlanders), Tim Anstee (Force), Zarn Sullivan (Blues)

2 points – Aidan Morgan (Hurricanes), Akira Ioane (Blues), Ardie Savea (Hurricanes), Brad Weber, Brad Wilkin (Rebels), Billy Harmon (Highlanders), Codie Taylor (Crusaders), Dallas McLeod (Crusaders), Danny Toala (Moana), Jake Gordon (Waratahs), Jamie Booth (Hurricanes), Kitione Salawa (Drua), Levi Aumua (Moana), Luke Reimer (Brumbies), Manasa Mataele (Force), Mark Nawaqanitawase (Waratahs), Nic White (Brumbies), Rhys Van Nek (Brumbies), Sam Whitelock (Crusaders), Selestino Ravutaumada (Drua), Taj Annan (Reds), Tane Edmed (Waratahs), Will Jordan (Crusaders)

1 point – Abraham Pole (Moana), Adrian Choat (Blues), Alex Nankivell (Chiefs), Andrew Kellaway (Rebels), Anton Segner (Blues), Cortez Ratima (Chiefs), Eroni Sau (Drua), Fetuli Paea (Highlanders), Harry Johnson-Holmes (Waratahs), Josh Moorby (Hurricanes), Kalaveti Ravouvou (Drua), Len Ikitau (Brumbies), Liam Wright (Reds), Max Jorgensen (Waratahs), Mike Curry (Moana), Nepo Laulala (Blues), Nikora Broughton (Highlanders), Noah Lolesio (Brumbies), Ollie Callan (Force), Ollie Sapsford (Brumbies), Sam Cane (Chiefs), Samipeni Finau (Chiefs), Stephen Perofeta (Blues), Suliasi Vunivalu (Reds), Taniela Rakuro (Drua), Zach Kibirige (Force)


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


1 Comment
isaac 416 days ago

Drua....too many school boy errors ...dont play to entertain. Play to win....crowd numbers going down slowly......left alot of points there drua...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

TRENDING 'I thought he was outstanding... exceptional': Warren Gatland singles out Wales star 'I thought he was outstanding... exceptional': Gatland hails star