Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



The three fixable factors behind Eddie Jones' England stagnation

Eddie Jones' England weren't far away from making the grade.

RugbyPass+ Home

Super Rugby sides named for semis: Canes bench Savea

By RugbyPass
Canes coach Chris Boyd has wielded the axe

All four teams have been named for this weekend’s Super Rugby semi finals, with the Crusaders naming an unchanged 23 for their match against the Chiefs at AMI Stadium on Saturday evening NZT.


Crusaders: 1. Joe Moody, 2. Codie Taylor, 3. Owen Franks, 4. Scott Barrett, 5. Sam Whitelock (C), 6. Jordan Taufua, 7. Matt Todd (VC), 8. Kieran Read, 9. Bryn Hall, 10. Richie Mo’unga, 11. Seta Tamanivalu, 12. Ryan Crotty (VC), 13. Jack Goodhue, 14. Israel Dagg, 15. David Havili

Reserves: 16. Ben Funnell, 17. Wyatt Crockett, 18. Michael Alaalatoa, 19. Luke Romano, 20. Pete Samu, 21. Mitchell Drummond, 22. Mitchell Hunt, 23. George Bridge

They’ll be facing a Chiefs team welcoming back Charlie Ngatai and Tim Nanai-Williams to the starting lineup.

Chiefs: 15. Damian McKenzie, 14. Tim Nanai-Williams, 13. Anton Lienert-Brown, 12.Charlie Ngatai, 11. James Lowe, 10. Aaron Cruden (co-c), 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8. Michael Leitch, 7. Sam Cane (co-c), 6. Liam Messam, 5. Brodie Retallick, 4. Mitchell Brown, 3. Nepo Laulala, 2. Nathan Harris, 1. Kane Hames.

Reserves: 16. Liam Polwart, 17. Aidan Ross, 18. Atu Moli, 19. Dominic Bird, 20. Lachlan Boshier, 21. Finlay Christie, 22. Stephen Donald, 23. Shaun Stevenson


Over in Johannesburg, the Lions have also named an unchanged 23 for their semi final against the Hurricanes:

Lions: 15. Andries Coetzee, 14. Ruan Combrinck, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Harold Vorster, 11. Courtnall Skosan, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Ross Cronje, 8. Ruan Ackermann, 7. Kwagga Smith, 6. Jaco Kriel (c), 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Andries Ferreira, 3. Ruan Dreyer, 2. Malcolm Marx, 1. Jacques van Rooyen.

Reserves: 16. Akker van der Merwe, 17. Corne Fourie, 18. Johannes Jonker, 19. Lourens Erasmus, 20. Cyle Brink, 21. Faf de Klerk, 22. Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 23. Sylvian Mahuza.

The visitors have made the most eye-raising change, dropping All Black wing Julian Savea in favour of Wes Goosen. Vince Aso comes back in at centre, meaning Jordie Barrett goes to fullback and Nehe Milner-Skudder shifts to the wing. Veteran Cory Jane is squeezed off the bench and probably into waterboy duties. It’s a repeat of last year’s scenario for Savea, who was axed for the entire finals campaign for Jason Woodward.


Hurricanes: 15. Jordie Barrett, 14. Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13. Vince Aso, 12. Ngani Laumape, 11. Wes Goosen, 10. Beauden Barrett, 9. TJ Perenara, 8. Brad Shields, 7. Ardie Savea, 6. Vaea Fifita, 5. Sam Lousi, 4. Mark Abbott, 3. Jeff To’omaga-Allen, 2. Dane Coles (c), 1. Ben May.

Reserves: 16. Ricky Riccitelli, 17. Chris Eves, 18. Loni Uhila, 19. Reed Prinsep, 20. Callum Gibbins, 21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22. Otere Black, 23. Julian Savea



Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Now is the Autumn of our discontent...