Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Saracens make nine changes for latest Championship outing, benching Jamie George

By Sam Smith
(Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

Promotion favourites Saracens have made nine changes to their XV to take on Nottingham this Saturday, including the benching of Jamie George six days after their crucial win over the table-topping Ealing Trailfinders. The Championship’s previously unbeaten leaders were comfortable beaten 48-20 at StoneX Stadium and Sarries will now look to carry on that momentum in the East Midlands with a trip to Lady Bay.   


There are five changes in the forwards. Tom Woolstencroft and Alec Clarey start alongside Mako Vunipola in the Saracens front row with George and Vincent Koch moving to the bench. Joel Kpoku will start alongside Maro Itoje in the second row, while Janco Venter and Andy Christie line up in the back row with Billy Vunipola,

Tom Whiteley will be at scrum-half, partnering skipper Owen Farrell at half-back. There is a new midfield pairing with both Duncan Taylor and Dom Morris returning, while Rotimi Segun is back on the left wing and Alex Lewington faces his former side on the right. Elliot Daly completes the XV at full-back.

Video Spacer

England pair Shaunagh Brown and Dan Norton guest on the latest RugbyPass Offload

Video Spacer

England pair Shaunagh Brown and Dan Norton guest on the latest RugbyPass Offload

No9 Whiteley told the Saracens website: “I’m buzzing to get a start and just itching to get out there. I know everyone is going to give it their best and we want to take more steps forward. The last few weeks have been tough games but the mentality has been great.

“We are all excited about where we can take this. We want to get on the front foot by playing aggressive rugby and we’re going to try our hardest to come back with the five points.”

SARACENS (vs Nottingham, Saturday)
15. Elliot Daly
14. Alex Lewington
13. Dom Morris
12. Duncan Taylor
11. Rotimi Segun
10. Owen Farrell (capt)
9. Tom Whiteley
1. Mako Vunipola
2. Tom Woolstencroft
3. Alec Clarey
4. Maro Itoje
5. Joel Kpoku
6. Janco Venter
7. Andy Christie
8. Billy Vunipola

16. Jamie George
17. Eroni Mawi
18. Vincent Koch
19. Callum Hunter-Hill
20. Jackson Wray
21. Alex Day
22. Will Hooley
23. Harry Sloan




Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

sean 2 hours ago
The bite don't match the bark

Yeah, he has a few good points… I disagree that our 7s haven't done anything, we won Bronze in 2016, and we were virtually unplayable to the backend of the “teens” winning the series. 7s is far more competitive globally than Union, so it's fair to say we haven't dominated, but we are almost always contenders. But I do agree that our national side doesn't perform nearly as well as it should between World Cups, and I do agree that our supporters can be too passionate and the opitimity of what Rugby stands against. I have said so many times. And I also believe some context needs to be taken into account with Saturday's win for Ireland. They're a really good team! Settled coaching staff, and bar a few legends retiring, they've had a full season and plenty of time together. We have some youngsters being groomed for the future, have played only 3 games now under a new coaching team with new philosophies and game plans. I'm excited by what the future of this team holds, as much as I am disappointed by the result. But unlike this article suggests, I am never going to take away from what Ireland has achieved, is achieving, and where they're heading. As a Rugby fan, I love the tight games, like the last two weekends. As a Bok Super Fan, I agree we don't perform as well as we should. And as an aside, you come play a game at 7am on our fields, bud. -2°c and frost on the field that is as hard as concrete…. Then we’ll see just how tough you are. Well done Ireland! They played well, and gave our boys a lot to think about. That's what you want from the top two teams in the world. Rugby won. The fans of this greatbsport won. A'n bullshit like this article is why Rugby is losing its identity. I don't like soccer. This article perpetuates the soccer influences the game of Rugby is starting to see. It's why Wayne Barnes retired, feared for his family, and he isn't the only ref to say so. I have called out many Bok fans for being an embarrassment to the game, and I will continue to do so., this article is close to the same bullshit. You should be better.

43 Go to comments
FEATURE Rugby at the Olympic Games - from the romantic to the ridiculous Rugby at the Olympic Games - from the romantic to the ridiculous