Unlock premium content and more with all-new RugbyPass+ Unlock Premium with RugbyPass+
Close Notice

Ireland make six changes their XV and include uncapped prop on their bench to face Scotland

By Online Editors

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Andy Farrell has reacted to the unimpressive Ireland win last Sunday over Georgia by changing six of his starting side to face Scotland in this Saturday’s third-place Autumn Nations Cup playoff in Dublin.


Ireland stuttered for second-half momentum versus the Georgians, winning only 23-10 and leaving their coach dissatisfied with what he had seen. He has now taken remedial action with his fourth Nations Cup selection and his sixth match in recent weeks.

Bundee Aki and Robbie Henshaw return at midfield, with Henshaw at No13, in the hope that they will go better than Chris Farrell and Stuart McCloskey.

Video Spacer

Dylan Hartley and Jamie Roberts talk Autumn Nations Cup and what could make rugby a better spectacle
Video Spacer
Dylan Hartley and Jamie Roberts talk Autumn Nations Cup and what could make rugby a better spectacle

The third backline change sees fit-again skipper Johnny Sexton reinstated at out-half and he will resume his experienced partnership with Conor Murray.

The three changes in the starting pack begin with Cian Healy’s restoration at loosehead in place of Finlay Bealham, who had difficulty coping with the Georgian scrum.

In the back row, Peter O’Mahony and Caelan Doris come back in for Tadhg Beirne and Will Connors, joining CJ Stander who will pack down at blindside having been at No8 last weekend.


The big bench news is the call-up for uncapped loosehead Eric O’Sullivan of Ulster. He is joined in the replacements by Ronan Kelleher, John Ryan, Quinn Roux, Josh van der Flier, Jamison Gibson-Park, Ross Byrne and Farrell.

IRELAND (vs Scotland, Saturday)
15. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 32
14. Hugo Keenan (UCD/Leinster) 5
13. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 46
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 29
11. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 87
10. Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster 94 Captain
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 86
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 103
2. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 15
3. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 31
4. Iain Henderson (Academy/Ulster) 57
5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster)  31
6. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 45
7. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 72
8. Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 6

16. Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster) 5
17. Eric O’Sullivan (Banbridge/Ulster) Uncapped
18. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 22
19. Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 15
20. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 27
21. Jamison Gibson-Park ( Leinster) 4
22. Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 10
23. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 13.



Join RugbyPass+ now and be apart of the conversation with all-new commenting!

Join Now