England pair Maro Itoje and Ben Youngs have been nominated for the 2020 Guinness Six Nations player of the championship award, but the six-strong shortlist is dominated by France.


Itoje has been magnificent all tournament and, as a destructive force at the breakdown and explosive in defence, he played a key role in his side winning a third title under Eddie Jones.

Youngs won his 100th cap in Saturday’s victory over Italy that seized the crown from Wales, celebrating the occasion with two tries to end a competition in which he has been highly consistent.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer
Sexton explains why he reacted the way he did when subbed against France:

Despite England’s success, it was France who captured imaginations and they are represented by their dazzling half-backs Antoine Dupont and Romain Ntamack and imperious number eight Gregory Alldritt.

Completing the list is Ireland back row CJ Stander, with all six looking to succeed Alun Wyn Jones as reigning player of the Six Nations.

Voting is done by supporters on the championship’s official website with the winner announced on Friday.

Guinness Six Nations Player of the Championship past winners:
2004: Gordon D’Arcy – Ireland
2005: Martyn Williams – Wales
2006: Brian O’Driscoll – Ireland
2007: Brian O’Driscoll – Ireland
2008: Shane Williams – Wales
2009: Brian O’Driscoll – Ireland
2010: Tommy Bowe – Ireland
2011: Andrea Masi – Italy
2012: Dan Lydiate – Wales
2013: Leigh Halfpenny – Wales
2014: Mike Brown – England
2015: Paul O’Connell – Ireland
2016: Stuart Hogg – Scotland
2017: Stuart Hogg – Scotland
2018: Jacob Stockdale – Ireland
2019: Alun Wyn Jones – Wales


Mailing List

Sign up to our mailing list for a weekly digest from the wide world of rugby.

Sign Up Now