Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



The major Six Nations concern for Wales and England ahead of World Cup 2023

Wales and England might regret stepping onto the coaching merry-go-round.

RugbyPass+ Home

Steve Borthwick has named his England team to play Scotland

By Liam Heagney
(Photo by Henry Browne/Getty Images)

Steve Borthwick has named his first England team as the new head coach, his selection showing eight changes from the XV that started the final match of the Eddie Jones era 10 weeks ago. The English were beaten 13-27 by South Africa in that last outing under Jones and Borthwick has now come to the party with a bang, omitting the likes of Manu Tuilagi, giving a debut to Ollie Hassell-Collins and naming recalled veteran Dan Cole on the bench.


The three backline changes see Max Malins named on the right wing in place of Tommy Freeman, Joe Marchant comes in at outside centre for Tuilagi while the uncapped Hassell-Collins is on the left wing in place of Jonny May. Owen Farrell will skipper the side from No12, with Borthwick resisting the temptation to move him to out-half in place of Marcus Smith.

There are five changes in the pack, starting with Ellis Genge being restored as the starting loosehead instead of Mako Vunipola. There is an entirely different back row with Lewis Ludlam, Ben Curry and Alex Dombrandt named in place of Alex Coles, Tom Curry and Billy Vunipola. Meanwhile, Ollie Chessum takes over from Jonny Hill at lock.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

Ben Youngs is the only replacement from the South Africa game who is named on the England bench on this occasion. Hooker Jack Walker is poised for a debut and tighthead Cole is included for the first time since the 2019 World Cup final. Nick Isiekwe, Ben Earl, Ollie Lawrence and Anthony Watson are also named.

England (vs Scotland, Saturday)
15. Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 17 caps)
14. Max Malins (Saracens, 14 caps)
13. Joe Marchant (Harlequins, 13 caps)
12. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 101 caps) (C)
11. Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish, uncapped)
10. Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 17 caps)
9. Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers, 7 caps)
1. Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears, 43 caps) (VC)
2. Jamie George (Saracens, 72 caps)
3. Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 56 caps)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 62 caps)
5. Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers, 5 caps)
6. Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 14 caps)
7. Ben Curry (Sale Sharks,1 cap)
8. Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 9 caps)


16. Jack Walker (Harlequins, uncapped)
17. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 74 caps)
18. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 95 caps)
19. Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, 8 caps)
20. Ben Earl (Saracens, 13 caps)
21. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 121 caps)
22. Ollie Lawrence (Bath Rugby, 7 caps)
23. Anthony Watson (Leicester Tigers, 51 caps)



Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING The Premiership Rugby statement that won't please Steve Borthwick The Premiership Rugby statement that won't please Steve Borthwick