Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

No less than 10 England players named for Premiership Cup clash

By Ian Cameron
Declan Danaher embraces Ollie Hassell-Collins post-game last Saturday (Photo by Dan Mullan/The RFU Collection via Getty Images)

A total of ten current or former England players will be taking to the field as Leicester Tigers take on Newcastle Falcons in the Premiership Cup this weekend at Mattioli Woods Welford Road.


A quick scan of both team sheets suggests that the stereotypical view of the Premiership Cup as purely a development competition for emerging talent might need to be reassessed.

The Leicester side includes the likes of Dan Kelly, Ollie Hassell-Collins, Guy Porter, Joe Heyes and one-cap second-row Harry Wells, all of whom were in the running for a spot in Steve Borthwick’s England side for the Rugby World Cup.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

Also included in the side at veteran Mike Brown, as well as England hooker Nic Dolly on the bench.

Newcastle Falcons, for their part, can boast England flyer Adam Radwan, back row Callum Chick and hooker Jamie Blamire among their ranks.

There are other internationals involved, including Scots Murray McCallum (for Newcastle) and Cameron Henderson (Leicester).

Currently unwanted by Warren Gatland, Welsh international back-rower Sam Cross is set to make his debut from the bench for the Tynesiders.



Former Wallabyhalfback Joe Powell starts for the Tigers at nine.

Argentina are also represented with Los Pumas outside centre Matias Orlando lining out for the Falcons at 13.

While not a fully-fledged international, former England camp player Charlie Atkinson will make his 20th Leicester Tigers appearance on Saturday to earn his Players Tie.

LEICESTER TIGERS: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Josh Bassett, 13 Guy Porter, 12 Dan Kelly, 11 Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10 Charlie Atkinson, 9 Joe Powell, 1 Francois Van Wyk, 2 Charlie Clare, 3 Joe Heyes, 4 Cameron Henderson, 5 Harry Wells, 6 Hanro Liebenberg (c), 7 Olly Cracknell, 8 Matt Rogerson


REPLACEMENTS: 16 Nic Dolly, 17 James Whitcombe, 18 Will Hurd, 19 Mike Williams, 20 Kyle Hatherell, 21 Tom Whiteley, 22 Jamie Shillcock, 23 Phil Cokanasiga

NEWCASTLE FALCONS: 15 Elliott Obatoyinbo, 14 Adam Radwan, 13 Tom Penny, 12 Matias Orlando, 11 Ben Stevenson, 10 Brett Connon, 9 Sam Stuart; 1 Adam Brocklebank, 2 Jamie Blamire, 3 Mark Tampin, 4 Tim Cardall, 5 Kiran McDonald, 6 Freddie Lockwood, 7 Guy Pepper, 8 Callum Chick (captain).

REPLACEMENTS: 16 Michael van Vuuren, 17 Phil Brantingham, 18 Murray McCallum, 19 Sebastian de Chaves, 20 Sam Cross, 21 Hugh O’Sullivan, 22 Louie Johnson, 23 Cameron Hutchison












Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE How can fraying Wallabies maul handle Springbok brawn? How can fraying Wallabies maul handle Springbok brawn?