Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Gregor Townsend names Scotland team showing two changes for Ireland

By Liam Heagney
(Photo by Ross MacDonald/SNS Group via Getty Images)

Gregor Townsend has named a Scotland team to host Ireland showing two changes from their Guinness Six Nations round three defeat away to France. The Scots lost out 21-32 in Paris but they still retain a chance of winning title and can clinch a first Triple Crown since 1990 with a win over the Irish at Murrayfield.


With Grant Gilchrist suspended following his Stade de France red card, Jonny Gray has been promoted from the bench.

The other change is also in the pack with French game sub Jack Dempsey swapping places with the benched Hamish Watson. His inclusion at No8 means Matt Fagerson will switch to No6.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

Townsend went with a six/two forwards/backs bench split versus the French but the Scotland team to face Ireland will have a five/three cover as the place given up by the promoted lock Gray has been taken by midfielder Chris Harris.

Another change in the subs sees tighthead Simon Berghan take over from WP Nel.


Scotland team (vs Ireland, Sunday – 3:0pm)
15. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) – Vice-Captain – 99 caps
14. Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 8 caps
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) 34 caps
12. Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 14 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 26 caps
10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) 68 caps
9. Ben White (London Irish) 12 caps
1. Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 19 caps
2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 33 caps
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 56 caps
4. Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 72 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) – Vice-Captain – 75 caps
6. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 31 caps
7. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – Captain – 39 caps
8. Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 7 caps

16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) 60 caps
17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 28 caps
18. Simon Berghan (Glasgow Warriors) 32 caps
19. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) 23 caps
20. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) 55 caps
21. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) 59 caps
22. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 41 caps
23. Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 41 caps


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE How the Springboks may deploy young guns in mid-year Tests How the Springboks may deploy young guns in mid-year Tests