Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



The three fixable factors behind Eddie Jones' England stagnation

Eddie Jones' England weren't far away from making the grade.

RugbyPass+ Home

England and Chile scoop up best try of the year awards

By Ben Smith
(Photo by Phil Walter/Getty Images)

England and Chile have been awarded the try of the year titles by World Rugby at the annual awards dinner in Monaco.


Abby Dow’s scorching end-to-end effort against Canada in the World Cup semi-final for the Red Roses was judged to be the women’s try of the year.

The Roses’ winger finished off a length of the field movement after England secured possession in front of their own goal posts.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

They spun the ball out wide to left wing Claudia MacDonald who stepped through a handful of Canadian defenders as well as medics trying to get off the field.

MacDonald, who also plays scrumhalf, showed her passing skills with a long pass to link with her right wing partner Dow. The No 14 had the pace to outrun the rest of the Canada defence to score a defining try.

The spirit breaking score gave the Red Roses a crucial lead in the semi-final which ended up being the difference between the two sides.


“That was end-to-end rugby, it came from the forwards to the backs,” Dow told World Rugby after receiving the award.

“I think everybody did the job to the best of their ability and it was incredible.”

Chile’s Rodrigo Fernandez’s was awarded the men’s try of the year for his effort against USA in their World Cup qualifier.

In horrific conditions, the Chilean flyhalf fielded a bouncing ball deep inside his half after a clearing box kick from the USA.


Fernandez returned the kick the distance after evading no less than six tackle attempts, while a seventh rode his back as he crashed over for the incredible individual effort.

The try helped Chile qualify for next year’s Men’s Rugby World Cup in France which Fernandez is hoping to be a part of.

“I’m pretty honoured to be here really. I never expected this,” Fernandez said after picking up the award.

“We are looking forward to it [next year], as I said it is our dream to go and play in France next year.”


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Dupont slams South African inclusion in European Cup Dupont slams South African inclusion in European Cup