Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

David Campese overtakes Doug Howlett in vote for best-ever No 14

By Sam Smith
Doug Howlett and David Campese. (Photos by Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Wallabies legend David Campese has overtaken All Blacks great Doug Howlett to take the right wing spot in a fan-voted all-time XV.


Home to the greatest rugby icons of all-time, the RugbyPass Hall of Fame acknowledges and recognises the outstanding efforts of the trailblazers from the amateur era through to the global stars who light up the sport to this day.

Over the course of the past three weeks, players from past and present have been inducted into the Hall of Fame, with fans given the chance to vote for who they believe to be the best in each position from loosehead prop to fullback.

Video Spacer

RugbyPass Offload | Episode 14
Video Spacer
RugbyPass Offload | Episode 14

Voting is a continuous process, meaning there will never be a finalised all-time XV as fans will always have the chance to have their say and vote for new or existing inductees, opening up the possibility for changes to the Fan 1st XV in the future.

Now, after the initial RugbyPass Hall of Fame All-Time Fan 1st XV was confirmed last week, the first major change to the team has occurred, with Campese earning a surge of votes to overtake Howlett in the No 14 jersey.

Howlett, the 63-test wing who holds the record for most tries scored by an All Black with 49, had dominated the No 14 jersey spot since the induction of 12 right wings last Thursday.

His lead over Campese was slim, though, and a rise in voting has seen the 1991 World Cup-winning Wallabies centurion, who has the third-most tries in test rugby with 64, force his way into the All-Time Fan 1st XV.


In doing so, he becomes the first Australian to be voted into the team, and has reduced the number of All Blacks in the composite side to nine.

The door remains open for other players to become RugbyPass Hall of Famers, so register now to have your say and vote for your favourite inductee in the Fan 1st XV.

Current RugbyPass Hall of Fame All-Time Fan 1st XV

1. Os du Randt (South Africa, 1994-2007)
2. Sean Fitzpatrick (New Zealand, 1986-1997)
3. Owen Franks (New Zealand, 2009-2019)
4. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa, 2012-present)
5. Victor Matfield (South Africa, 2001-2015)
6. Jerome Kaino (New Zealand, 2004-2017)
7. Richie McCaw (New Zealand, 2001-2015)
8. Mamuka Gorgodze (Georgia, 2003-2019)
9. Aaron Smith (New Zealand, 2012-present)
10. Dan Carter (New Zealand, 2003-2015)
11. Jonah Lomu (New Zealand, 1994-2002)
12. Ma’a Nonu (New Zealand, 2003-2015)
13. Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland, 1999-2014)
14. David Campese (Australia, 1982-1996)
15. Christian Cullen (New Zealand, 1996-2002)

Coach: Rassie Erasmus (South Africa)
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Stadium: 22.12.2021


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING 'I'm either going to end up in jail or dead... or get my life together' 'I'm either going to end up in jail or dead... or get my life together