Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Dan Carter one of five to be inducted into World Rugby Hall of Fame

By Finn Morton
(Photo by Richard Heathcote - World Rugby via Getty Images)

Rugby World Cup winners Dan Carter and Bryan Habana are among the five players that are set to be inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame later this month.


World Rugby has confirmed that Thierry Dusautoir, George Smith and Juan Martin Hernandez will also join the exclusive club of legends at the World Rugby Awards in Paris on October 29.

Carter, 41, is widely revered as one of the greatest players in the history of rugby union. The former All Black won two Rugby World Cup titles and is the record point-scorer in the international game.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

Playing in his 112th and final Test match in the 2015 World Cup final at Twickenham, Carter stole the show with a momentum-shifting dropkick during the second half. Carter was later named the World Rugby Player of the Year after a sensational tournament in the black jersey.

Bryan Habana is the other world champion in this list, with the former Springboks flyer currently sitting equal first for tries scored at men’s Rugby World Cups with 15.

Dusautoir and Smith both reached World Cup finals but fell agonisingly short of victory, while Hernandez helped inspire Los Pumas’ unforgettable run to a bronze medal in 2007.

“Rugby World Cup 2023 is our 200th birthday party, the sport’s greatest celebration of togetherness,” World Rugby Chairman and Hall of Fam inductee Sir Bill Beaumont said.


“We are proud to be inducting five legends of the game, players who are indelibly linked to the remarkable Rugby World Cup story.


New Zealand
South Africa
11 - 12
New Zealand
6 - 44
South Africa
15 - 16
17 - 29
New Zealand
24 - 28
30 - 24
South Africa
28 - 29

“Each have played a huge role in making the sport what it is today, exciting and inspiring in equal measure, while always being superb ambassadors for their sport. Their impact was greater than the field of play, it transcended sport and society, taking rugby to another level.

“Congratulations to our inductees. We look forward to celebrating their achievements at the World Rugby Awards in Paris on 29 October.”

The World Rugby Hall of Fame recognises the individuals who have “made an outstanding contribution to the game of rugby,” according to a World Rugby statement.


There have been 161 inductees so far including two-time World Cup winner Richie McCaw, former Ireland playmaker Ronan O’Gara and former Wallaby Stephen Larkham. Nelson Mandela was also inducted in 2015.

“As our game celebrates another successful Rugby World Cup it is timely to recognise those who have contributed to making our game the wonderful global sport that it is,” fellow inductee and former Wallaby John Eales added in a statement.

“Today we induct a series of rugby players into the World Rugby Hall of Fame who have each thrived on the world stage as exemplars of the athletic requirements of our game, and just as importantly, as ambassadors of the values of our game.

“Congratulations to our five inductees.”


Join free

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 8

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Steelers v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Rugby Europe Women's Championship | Netherlands v Spain

Trending on RugbyPass


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

TRENDING 'If Dupont wasn't on the planet, we'd say this guy's the best No9' 'If Dupont wasn't on the planet, we'd say this guy's the best No9'