Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Smith, O'Driscoll among newly-inducted RugbyPass Hall of Fame No13s

By Sam Smith
(Photos / Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

The 13th wave of inductees into the RugbyPass Hall of Fame has been revealed with the finest centres to ever  grace the game recognised on Wednesday. Home to the greatest rugby players of all-time, the RugbyPass Hall of Fame acknowledges and recognises the outstanding efforts of the trailblazers from the amateur era through to the global stars who light up the sport to this day.


The amalgamation of rugby’s top players from the amateur and professional eras has been reflected in the RugbyPass Hall of Fame’s first-ever induction announcement, from which 13 of rugby’s best centres have been unveiled as inductees.

Among the headline names inducted into the RugbyPass Hall of Fame include World Cup-winning trio Conrad Smith, Jason Little and Will Greenwood. Smith and Little are part of a handful of rugby players throughout the course of history to have won the Webb Ellis Cup twice, which Smith did with the All Blacks in 2011 and 2015, as did Little with the Wallabies in 1991 and 1999.

Video Spacer

Ex-All Blacks prop John Afoa guests on RugbyPass Offload
Video Spacer
Ex-All Blacks prop John Afoa guests on RugbyPass Offload

Greenwood, meanwhile, was part of the England squad that claimed the country’s only World Cup title in 2003, and is joined by countrymen Will Carling and Manu Tuilagi among the new inductees.

Likewise, Smith is joined by fellow Kiwis Tana Umaga and Frank Bunce as new admissions into the RugbyPass Hall of Fame, while Little is accompanied by Australian compatriots Adam Ashley-Cooper and Stirling Mortlock.

However, perhaps the title of the greatest centre in rugby history belongs to the wildly popular Irish legend Brian O’Driscoll, a genuine great of the game.

O’Driscoll is the sole Irishman among the new RugbyPass Hall of Fame inductees and has been admitted alongside ex-Springboks star Danie Gerber, Manu Samoa icon Brian Lima and current Welsh international Jonathan Davies.


Of all those included in the RugbyPass Hall of Fame, only the players with the most votes in each position will make the Fan 1st XV, a team made up of only the best players ever to have played rugby.

The door remains open for other players to become RugbyPass Hall of Famers, so register now to have your say and vote for your favourite inductee in the Fan 1st XV.

Current RugbyPass Hall of Fame Fan 1st XV

1. Os du Randt (South Africa, 1994-2007)
2. Sean Fitzpatrick (New Zealand, 1986-1997)
3. Owen Franks (New Zealand, 2009-2019)
4. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa, 2012-present)
5. Victor Matfield (South Africa, 2001-2015)
6. Jerome Kaino (New Zealand, 2004-2017)
7. Richie McCaw (New Zealand, 2001-2015)
8. Mamuka Gorgodze (Georgia, 2003-2019)
9. Aaron Smith (New Zealand, 2012-present)
10. Dan Carter (New Zealand, 2003-2015)
11. Jonah Lomu (New Zealand, 1994-2002)
12. Ma’a Nonu (New Zealand, 2003-2015)
13. Induction 15.12.2021
14. Induction 16.12.2021
15. Induction 17.12.2021

Coach: 20.12.2021
Referee: 21.12.2021
Stadium: 22.12.2021


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Springboks player ratings vs Argentina | Rugby Championship Springboks player ratings vs Argentina | Rugby Championship