Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



Van der Merwe's heroics silence the Twickenham masses

A try for the ages lights up a thrilling opening weekend of Six Nations rugby as Scotland, Ireland and France register away wins

RugbyPass+ Home

7 Wallabies and 3 Springboks to start for Barbarians versus Samoa

By Liam Heagney
(Photo by Steve Bardens/Getty Images for Barbarians)

Dave Rennie has named his Barbarians team to take on Samoa in Saturday’s Killik Cup match at Twickenham, the Wallabies coach including seven Australians, three Springboks, three Japanese, one Scot and one Argentine in a starting XV that will be skippered by Ryan Wilson, the RugbyPass Offload show co-host.  


Steven Kitshoff, Malcolm Marx and Duane Vermeulen will provide a very South African complexion to the starting pack just seven days after they were part of the Springboks squad beaten by England in the Autumn Nations Series finale. 

Rob Leota, Pete Samu, Nic White, James O’Connor, Filipo Daugunu, Len Ikitau and Tom Wright are the seven starting Wallabies while the age-old tradition of the Barbarians including non-capped players continues with the selection of Rodrigo Fernandez Criado of Belgrano Athletic and Olly Robinson of Cardiff RFC on the bench. Former Ireland and Lions full-back Rob Kearney is also on the bench in his last match before retirement.

Video Spacer

What happened when RugbyPass went behind the scenes at the Barbarians
Video Spacer
What happened when RugbyPass went behind the scenes at the Barbarians

Rennie said: “We have had a great week – a good combination of work on the pitch, connection and fun. They guys have come together as a strong group and we are all focused on Saturday.

“We have got eight different countries represented in our squad and the diversity, different levels of experience and different playing styles have really combined to create an exciting line-up. We plan to get out there and play some champagne rugby against a strong Samoan side and give the fans a great show.”

BARBARIANS (vs Samoa, Saturday)
1. Steven Kitshoff (South Africa, DHL Stormers)
2. Malcolm Marx (South Africa, Kubota Spears)
3. Shinnosuke Kakinaga (Japan, Tokyo Sungoliath)
4. Rob Leota (Australia, Melbourne Rebels)
5. Naohiro Kotaki (Japan, Kobelco Kobe Steelers)
6. Ryan Wilson (Scotland, Glasgow Warriors) CAPTAIN
7. Pete Samu (Australia, ACT Brumbies)
8. Duane Vermeulen (South Africa, Ulster Rugby)
9. Nic White (Australia, ACT Brumbies)
10. James O’Connor (Australia, Queensland Reds)
11. Filipo Daugunu (Australia, Queensland Reds)\
12. Ryoto Nakamura (Japan, Tokyo Sungoliath)
13. Len Ikitau (Australia, ACT Brumbies)
14. Marcos Moneta (Argentina, San Andres)
15. Tom Wright (Australia, ACT Brumbies)
16. Kosuke Horikoshi (Japan, Tokyo Sungoliath)
17. Angus Bell (Australia, NSW Waratahs)
18. Gia Kharaishvili (Georgia, Racing 92)
19. Rodrigo Fernandez Criado (Belgrano Athletic)
20. Olly Robinson (Cardiff RFC)
21. Tate McDermott (Australia, Queensland Reds)
22. Izaia Perese (Australia, NSW Waratahs)
23. Rob Kearney (Ireland, former Leinster and Western Force)


BARBARIANS WOMEN (vs Springboks)
1. Lindsay Peat (Ireland, Railway Union)
2. Laura Russell (Canada, Toronto Nomads)
3. Hope Rogers (USA, Life West)
4. Alycia Washington (USA, Worcester Warriors)
5. Lenaig Corson (France, Stade Rennais Rugby)
6. Ciara Griffin (Ireland, UL Bohemians) VICE CAPTAIN
7. Karen Paquin (Canada, Stade Bordelais)
8. Anna Caplice (Ireland, Gloucester Hartpury)
9. Natasha Hunt (England, Gloucester Hartpury) CAPTAIN
10. Katy Daley-McLean (England, Sale Sharks)
11. Sarah Levy (USA, New York Rugby Club)
12. Jenny Murphy (Ireland, Old Belvedere RFC)
13. Sene Naoupu (Ireland, Leinster)
14. Rhona Lloyd (Scotland, Les Lionnes Du Stade Bordelais)
15. Bulou Mataitoga (USA, Berkeley All Blues)
16. Isabel Rico Vazquez (Spain, Olimpico De Pozuelo Madrid)
17. Rochelle Clark (England, Saracens)
18. Simi Pam (England, Bristol Bears)
19. Sonia Green (England, Saracens)
20. Bethan Dainton (Wales, Harlequins)
21. Sammy Wong (New Zealand, Wasps)
22. Morgane Peyronnet (France, Montpellier Herault Rugby)
23. Katie Mason (England, Wasps)


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
RUGBYPASS+ Van der Merwe's heroics silence the Twickenham masses Van der Merwe's heroics silence the Twickenham masses