Watch: Former Scotland international red carded after horror tackle on Liam Gill in Japan
Former London Irish and Scotland international Blair Cowan was red carded for Ricoh Black Rams Tokyo in their clash against Shining Arcs Tokyo-Bay Urayasu.
Cowan got his tackle attempt wrong and ended up flying into his opposite No 8 Liam Gill leading with the head into the collison. The match was stopped as both players were left reeling from the hit.
After a review by the TMO, the referee had no choice but to issue a red card for the dangerous hit by the 35-year-old Cowan which left the former Queensland Red visibly dazed.
The Australian loose forward lasted another 15 minutes of play before being substituted out of the game.
The tackle came just 12 minutes into the game leaving the Black Rams down to 14-men for the rest of the match, which was too much of an ask. They were down 18-0 on the stroke of halftime when flyhalf Isaac Lucas scored to give the Rams a glimmer of hope.
But the Shining Arcs ran in a further three second half tries on the way to a 42-13 win as Otere Black kicked 15 points.
Join free and tell us what you really think!Join Free