Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Recap: Stormers vs Hurricanes LIVE | Super Rugby

By RugbyPass
RugbyPass Live Match Centre

Follow all the action on the RugbyPass live blog from the Super Rugby match between the Stormers and the Hurricanes at DHL Newlands. 


Keep up to date with the latest score, stats and join the conversation from anywhere in the world in our Live Match Centre (click here).

Springbok World Cup-winning captain Siya Kolisi will lead a Stormers side that includes a debut for Wales and British and Irish Lions international Jamie Roberts. There are seven RWC winners in the starting XV.

The Hurricanes last visited Newlands in 2014 when a late try secured a dramatic one-point win for the DHL Stormers.

Eight of the last nine games between the two sides have been won by the home team on the day and the last time the Hurricanes won in Cape Town was in March 2006.

(Continue reading below…)

Stormers coach John Dobson and captain Siya Kolisi set the scene ahead of the Super Rugby Opener 

Video Spacer

The last time the two teams played the opening game of the season was at Newlands in 2012 when Kolisi made a try-scoring debut off the replacements’ bench.


STORMERS: 15. Dillyn Leyds; 14. Sergeal Petersen, 13. Ruhan Nel, 12. Jamie Roberts, 11. Seabelo Senatla; 10. Damian Willemse, 9. Herschel Jantjies; 8. Siya Kolisi (capt), 7. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6. Jaco Coetzee, 5. Chris van Zyl, 4. Salmaan Moerat, 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Bongi Mbonambi, 1. Steven Kitshoff. Reps: 16. Scarra Ntubeni, 17. Ali Vermaak, 18. Wilco Louw, 19. David Meihuizen, 20. Ernst van Rhyn, 21. Johan du Toit, 22. Godlen Masimla, 23. Rikus Pretorius.

HURRICANES: 15. Jordie Barrett; 14. Wes Goosen, 13. Billy Proctor, 12. Ngani Laumape, 11. Ben Lam; 10. Fletcher Smith, 9. TJ Perenara (cap); 8. Gareth Evans, 7, Du Plessis Kirifi, 6. Reed Prinsep, 5. Scott Scrafton, 4. James Blackwell, 3. Tyrel Lomax, 2. Ricky Riccitelli, 1. Fraser Armstrong. Reps: 16. Asafo Auma, 17. Pouri Rakete-Stones, 18. Tevita Mafileo, 19. Vaea Fifita, 20. Devan Flanders, 21. Jamie Booth, 22. Jackson Garden-Bachop, 23. Vince Aso.

WATCH: The new global tournament that World Rugby hopes will come to fruition

Video Spacer



Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

B.J. Spratt 3 hours ago
All Blacks vs England takeaways: Richie Who? Time for Cortez

You Poms and Paddies are really nice guys. New Zealand V Ireland - 37 Tests - N.Z. 31 Wins - Ireland 5 Wins - 1 draw. New Zealand V England - 45 Tests - N.Z. 35 Wins -England 8 Wins - 2 draws. Combined - You have beaten the All Blacks 13 Times in 82 attempts over 119 years. The Stats over 100 years + would say, especially England with 6 Times the player pool than New Zealand, you have “a limitation of context” regarding developing your coaches to teach your players how to WIN. So how can England with a 6 times the player numbers have a 17% winning strike rate against New Zealand? and be 8 -0 in Test Series over 100 years. The answer is simple. Your perception of the game. How do you fix it? You need to play in New Zealand for a couple of seasons in your teens, 18 -20 or send coaches over here. Martin Johnstone played 2 seasons here under the mentorship of Colin Meads. When he came here he had rugby shorts with pockets and a handkerchief in one pocket. He played for NZ Under 21 against Wallaby John Eales. He became the toughest player in the game and the best ever English Captain and Captained the Lions twice. Legend! Maybe if he hadn’t come to New Zealand, he may still had those rugby shorts with pockets. Recently Rogan O’Gara spent time at the Crusaders. What a great coach. “Our “mindset is different” and that’s how we have beaten you for 100 years + How the hell he isn’t Coaching Ireland, France, England, Wales, or Scotland I will never know? England has 131,000 Senior rugby Players. Ireland has 21,000 Senior Players. New Zealand has 27,000 Senior Players.

42 Go to comments
TRENDING All Blacks player ratings vs England | Steinlager Ultra Low Carb second Test All Blacks player ratings vs England