The Springboks have rotated their squad for Saturday’s must-win cross-border battle with northern neighbours Namibia, making 13 changes to the starting line-up that appeared in the opening Rugby World Cup clash with New Zealand.

Director of rugby Rassie Erasmus said the Boks have to regain their momentum and decided to give first appearances in the competition to nine players.


Winger Makazole Mapimpi and midfielder Lukhanyo Am are the only players from the 23-13 reverse against New Zealand to make back-to-back starts.

In addition, six of the opening day starting XV re-appear on the bench – including captain Siya Kolisi – while all of last Saturday’s replacements, with the exception of injured Jesse Kriel, are in the starting lineup.

One of the newcomers to the starting line-up is Schalk Brits, who moves to a new role in the back row at No 8. Brits captains the team for the second time having led the Springboks in the 24-18 victory over Argentina in Pretoria.

Continue reading below…

Video Spacer

Frans Steyn, Francois Louw and Tendai Mtawarira all make second appearances against Namibia – having played in the Rugby World Cup meeting eight years ago – to provide a spine of experience to a team which has another five players yet to reach double figures in caps (Warrick Gelant, Sbu Nkosi, Makazole Mapimpi, Herschel Jantjies and Kwagga Smith).


Brits would cover the replacement hooker position and Franco Mostert (lock) would cover the loose forward positions along with Siya Kolisi, who continues his rehabilitation with more planned game time from the bench.

Thomas du Toit, who only arrived in Nagoya on Tuesday as an injury replacement for Trevor Nyakane, goes straight into the match day 23 as a front row replacement.

The match kicks off at 6:45pm local time.

The Springbok team to play Namibia in the City of Toyota Stadium on Saturday is:


15. Warrick Gelant (Bulls)

14. Sbu Nkosi (Sharks)

13. Lukhanyo Am (Sharks)

12. Frans Steyn (Montpellier)

11. Makazole Mapimpi (Sharks)

10. Elton Jantjies (Lions)

9. Herschel Jantjies (Stormers)

8. Schalk Brits (captain, Bulls)

7. Kwagga Smith (Lions)

6. Francois Louw (Bath)

5. Lood de Jager (Bulls)

4. RG Snyman (Bulls)

3. Vincent Koch (Saracens)

2. Bongi Mbonambi (Stormers)

1. Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks)


16. Steven Kitshoff (Stormers)

17. Thomas du Toit (Sharks)

18. Eben Etzebeth (Stormers)

19. Siya Kolisi (Stormers)

20. Franco Mostert (Gloucester)

21. Cobus Reinach (Northampton)

22. Damian de Allende (Stormers)

23. Cheslin Kolbe (Toulouse)

– SA Rugby

In other news:

Video Spacer

Mailing List

Sign up to our mailing list for a weekly digest from the wide world of rugby.

Sign Up Now