Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



Ireland are masters of all they survey, now for the World Cup

The feats of Andy Farrell's squad will be lauded in the years to come but they must now rid themselves of the World Cup hex

RugbyPass+ Home

Recap: Lyon vs Leinster LIVE | Heineken Champions Cup

By RugbyPass
Lyon take on Leinster at Stade de Gerland

Follow all the action on the RugbyPass live blog from the Heineken Champions Cup match between Lyon and Leinster at Matmut Stade de Gerland.


Keep up to date with the latest score, stats and join the conversation from anywhere in the world in our Live Match Centre (click here).

Top 14 leaders Lyon have made eleven changes following their 25-14 opening round defeat at Northampton, starting with a completely changed front row of Xavier Chiocci, Michael Ivaldi and Demba Bamba, Captain Baptiste Couilloud and Jonathan Wisniewski form the half-backs. 

Leinster have made five changes following last weekend’s 33-19 home win over Benetton. Rob Kearney makes his first start for the Irish province since returning from the World Cup, with Jordan Larmour moving to the right wing and James Lowe continuing on the left. 

Robbie Henshaw and Garry Ringrose are paired together for the first time this season in the centre, with Luke McGrath and captain Johnny Sexton continuing as the half-back pairing. 

(Continue reading below…)

Video Spacer

In the pack, Cian Healy and Ronan Kelleher are retained from the starting XV last week, with Tadhg Furlong returning from a back injury to start at tighthead. James Ryan is again selected in the second row, with Scott Fardy stepping up for Devin Toner to win his 50th club cap. 

In the back row, it’s the same two on the flanks, with Rhys Ruddock at blindside and Josh van der Flier at openside winning his 75th cap, with Max Deegan making his first European start from No8 having come on early last weekend for the injured Caelan Doris.  

In the replacements, James Tracy is in line to win his 100th cap. The 28-year-old made his Leinster debut off the bench in November 2012. Josh Murphy, meanwhile, is in line to make his European debut off the bench.


LYON: 15. Toby Arnold; 14. Xavier Mignot, 13. Thibaut Regard, 12. Charlie Ngatai, 11. Noa Nakaitaci; 10. Jonathan Wisniewski, 9. Baptiste Couilloud (capt); 1. Xavier Chiocci, 2. Mickael Ivaldi, 3. Demba Bamba, 4. Virgile Bruni, 5. Hendrik Roodt, 6. Julien Puricelli, 7. Liam Gill, 8. Carl Fearns. Reps: 16. Jeremie Maurouard, 17. Raphael Chaume, 18. Francisco Gomez Kodela, 19. Etienne Oosthuizen, 20. Loann Goujon, 21. Jonathan Pelissie, 22. Jean-Marcellin Buttin, 23. Rudi Wulf.

LEINSTER: 15. Rob Kearney; 14. Jordan Larmour, 13. Garry Ringrose, 12. Robbie Henshaw, 11. James Lowe; 10. Johnny Sexton (capt), 9. Luke McGrath; 1. Cian Healy, 2. Ronan Kelleher, 3. Tadhg Furlong, 4. Scott Fardy, 5. James Ryan, 6. Rhys Ruddock, 7. Josh van der Flier, 8. Max Deegan. Reps: 16. James Tracy, 17. Ed Byrne, 18. Andrew Porter, 19. Devin Toner, 20. Josh Murphy, 21. Jamison Gibson-Park, 22. Ross Byrne 23. Dave Kearney.

Referee: Luke Pearce (England).

WATCH: The Rugby Pod reacts to Saracens not appealing the 35-point deduction and fine for breaching Premiership Rugby’s salary cap regulations

Video Spacer


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
RUGBYPASS+ Scotland can dare to dream after ending Six Nations account in credit Scotland can dare to dream after ending Six Nations account in credit