Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Recap: Los Pumas v All Blacks LIVE | Rugby Championship

By Online Editors
New Zealand All Blacks and Argentina are ready for a Rugby Championship renewal in Buenos Aires (Photo by Evan Barnes/Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Follow all the action from the opening round of The Rugby Championship live on RugbyPass as Argentina host New Zealand at José Amalfitani Stadium in Buenos Aires.


Keep up to date with the latest score, stats and join the conversation anywhere in the world from in our Live Match Centre (click here).

If the Pumas beat the All Blacks by more than 15 points in Buenos Aires, the All Blacks will lose their No 1 ranking to Wales, who would take over the mantle for the first time in their history.

It certainly isn’t the most experienced All Blacks team you will ever see, with five players yet to make their debut included in the matchday 23. Sevu Reece starts on the right wing in his debut, while Atu Moli, Braydon Ennor, Josh Ioane and Luke Jacobson are poised to make their mark on the game off the bench.

The Sam Cane-captained side will meet a Pumas outfit extremely familiar with one another, with many of the players fronting from the Jaguares during the Super Rugby season.

Of the 23 selected for the game by coach Mario Ledesma, only three do not play for the country’s only Super Rugby franchise, with No10 Nicolas Sanchez (Stade Francais), tighthead prop Juan Figallo (Montpellier) and reserve half-back Felipe Ezcurra (Leicester) earning a spot in the side.

The All Blacks have won 27 of the 28 previous meetings between the two sides, with a solitary draw in 1985.

ARGENTINA: 15. Emiliano Boffelli; 14. Matías Moroni, 13. Matías Orlando, 12. Jerónimo de la Fuente, 11. Ramiro Moyano; 10. Nicolás Sánchez, 9. Tomás Cubelli; 8. Javier Ortega Desio, 7. Marcos Kremer, 6. Pablo Matera (capt), 5. Tomas Lavanini, 4. Guido Petti, 3. Juan Figallo, 2. Agustín Creevy, 1. Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro. Replacements: 16. Julián Montoya, 17. Mayco Vivas, 18. Santiago Medrano, 19. Matías Alemanno, 20. Tomás Lezana, 21. Felipe Ezcurra, 22. Joaquín Díaz Bonilla, 23. Joaquín Tuculet.

ALL BLACKS: 15. Ben Smith; 14. Sevu Reece, 13. Anton Lienert-Brown, 12. Ngani Laumape, 11. Jordie Barrett; 10. Beauden Barrett, 9. Aaron Smith; 8. Ardie Savea, 7. Sam Cane (capt), 6. Vaea Fifita, 5. Patrick Tuipulotu, 4. Brodie Retallick, 3. Angus Ta’avao, 2. Dane Coles, 1. Ofa Tuungafasi. Replacements: 16. Liam Coltman, 17. Atu Moli, 18. Nepo Laulala, 19. Jackson Hemopo, 20. Luke Jacobson, 21. Brad Weber, 22. Josh Ioane, 23. Braydon Ennor.

WATCH: The RugbyPass trailer for the soon-to-be-released Foden Stateside MLR documentary

Video Spacer


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
RUGBYPASS+ How Malcolm Marx became King of the breakdown How Malcolm Marx became King of the breakdown