Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Just one change for Ireland as they name side to face All Blacks

By Ben Smith
Bundee Aki and James Lowe. (Photo By Brendan Moran/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Head coach Andy Farrell has made just one change to Ireland’s team as they prepare for the third and final test match of the series against the All Blacks in Wellington.


Bundee Aki has been named at inside centre to partner Robbie Henshaw in the midfield after incumbent No 13 Garry Ringrose succumbed to injury.

The experienced No 12 has a vast wealth of experience playing alongside Johnny Sexton for Ireland, softening the Ringrose blow somewhat.

Sexton will be out to play his 108th cap, which will equal former captain Paul O’Connell’s tally.

Hugo Keenan, Mack Hansen and James Lowe have been named again in the back three, while Jamison Gibson-Park will partner Sexton in the halves.

Conor Murray, Joey Carbery and Keith Earls are named on the bench.

The industrious Irish pack from the first two tests remains in tact with Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan and Tadhg Furlong starting in the front row with Tadhg Beirne and James Ryan in the second. Ireland will carry one lock on the bench in Kieran Treadwell with Rob Herring, Cian Healy and Finlay Bealham as front row replacements.


The loose forward trio of Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and Caelan Doris round out a well balanced forward unit with Jack Conan on the bench as cover.

Ireland made history in Dunedin with their first ever win over the All Blacks on New Zealand soil, which was their fourth win in their last seven outings against the men in black.

With the series levelled 1-1, Ireland have a chance to break more historical ground with an unprecedented series win over New Zealand.

Ireland team to play New Zealand:


15. Hugo Keenan
14. Mack Hansen
13. Robbie Henshaw
12. Bundee Aki
11. James Lowe
10. Johnny Sexton (c)
9. Jamison Gibson Park
8. Caelan Doris
7. Josh van der Flier
6. Peter O’Mahony
5. James Ryan
4. Tadhg Beirne
3. Tadhg Furlong
2. Dan Sheehan
1. Andrew Porter

16. Rob Herring
17. Cian Healy
18. Finlay Bealham
19. Kieran Treadwell
20. Jack Conan
21. Conor Murray
22. Joey Carbery
23. Keith Earls


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
RUGBYPASS+ Rugby must not forget about Worcester Warriors Rugby must not forget about Worcester Warriors