Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Latest Feature

Cutting-edge coaching underlines Red Roses' supremacy

New Zealand's World Cup triumph should not mask the true order of the women's game.

Ireland confirm injured heavyweight trio to return to training tomorrow

By Ian Cameron
(Photo By David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Ireland appear set to have a full deck of cards to play with going into the opening weekend of the Guinness Six Nations, following an update from Portugal.


Andy Farrell’s squad arrived at The Campus in Quinta da Lago, Portugal on Thursday afternoon and trained on Friday and Saturday before a recovery day on Sunday.

A statement reads: “The squad will complete an organisational day today before training tomorrow and Wednesday before flying back to Dublin to complete preparations for the first game of the 2022 Guinness Six Nations against Wales at the Aviva Stadium this coming Saturday.”

Crucially, Ireland issued a positive update on six of their biggest name injury concerns, three of which are already training fully and three who are set to return.

“Keith Earls (strain), Josh van der Flier (strain) and Joey Carbery (elbow) have trained fully. Tadhg Furlong, James Ryan and Iain Henderson, whose respective loads have been managed to this point, are set to train tomorrow.”

Ireland are going into the tournament with high hopes after one of their most successful Autumns in several seasons. Farrell’s men won all three of the games, most notably beating the All Blacks convincingly in Dublin.

Ireland’s 37-man squad for the 2022 Guinness Six Nations.

Forwards: R Baird (Leinster), F Bealham (Connacht), T Beirne (Munster), J Conan (Leinster), G Coombes (Munster), C Doris (Leinster), T Furlong (Leinster), C Healy (Leinster), I Henderson (Ulster), R Herring (Ulster), R Kelleher (Leinster), D Kilcoyne (Munster), P O’Mahony (Munster), T O’Toole (Ulster), A Porter (Leinster), J Ryan (Leinster), D Sheehan (Leinster), N Timoney (Ulster), K Treadwell (Ulster), Josh Van Der Flier (Leinster).


Backs: B Aki (Connacht), R Baloucoune (Ulster), J Carbery (Munster), J Carty (Connacht), C Casey (Munster), A Conway (Munster), K Earls (Munster), J Gibson-Park (Leinster), M Hansen (Connacht), R Henshaw (Leinster), J Hume (Ulster), H Keenan (Leinster), J Larmour (Leinster), M Lowry (Ulster), C Murray (Munster), G Ringrose (Leinster), J Sexton (Leinster, capt).


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free
TRENDING Former All Black shines in Siya Kolisi's debut for Racing 92 Former All Black shines for Racing 92