Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



Rhys Carre: 'I've stopped trying to be someone I'm not'

The gainline-busting Cardiff Rugby loosehead has been one of the form players in the URC and he wants his opportunity with Wales

RugbyPass+ Home

HIGHLIGHTS: London Irish are back in the Premiership after try fest display

By Ian Cameron
Alex Lewington beating defenders

London Irish booked their place back in the Premiership after this barnstorming display in their second leg match against Yorkshire Carnegie.


The Exiles took an eleven point lead into the showdown at the Majeski Stadium, but they didn’t rest on their laurels, putting on a show for their home fans.

A stunning solo try by Alex Lewington in the second half was undoubtedly the standout moment of the game.

Speaking after the match London Irish Director of Rugby Nick Kennedy told the club’s website that: “It’s the players’ hard work that’s testament to this achievement.”

“We’ve asked them to do an awful lot this season and they’ve been incredible.I have so much respect for them.”

“We’re just delighted to be back in the Premiership where I believe this club belongs. We’ve rotated the squad all year and all the players fully deserve to be up there celebrating.


“The Play-off Final was a big occasion and the pressure is always going to take its toll on certain aspects, but we ultimately got the result that we wanted.

“The crowd were amazing and they really played their part over the two legs with their magnificent support, which has been evident throughout the season and I’m very pleased for them.”

London Irish: 15. Tommy Bell, 14. Alex Lewington, 13. Ciaran Hearn, 12. Fergus Mulchrone, 11. Topsy Ojo, 10. James Marshall, 9. Brendan McKibbin: 1. Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi, 2. David Paice (captain), 3. Ben Franks, 4. Sebastian De Chaves, 5. Jebb Sinclair, 6. Mike Coman, 7. Blair Cowan, 8. Ofisa Treviranus.

Replacements: 16. Dave Porecki (on for Paice, 64), 17. Tom Court (on for Hobbs-Awoyemi), 18. Ollie Hoskins, 19. George Robson (on for Sinclair), 20. Luke Narraway (on for Treviranus, 50), 21. Scott Steele (on for McKibbin), 22. Greig Tonks (on for Ojo, 66).


Yorkshire Carnegie: 15. Chris Elder, 14. Jonah Holmes, 13. Pete Lucock, 12. Tom Casson, 11. Seb Stegmann, 10. Joe Ford, 9. Alex Davies; 1. Charlie Beech, 2. Mike Mayhew, 3. Michael Cusack, 4. Mike Myerscough, 5. Matt Smith, 6. Ollie Stedman, 7. Richard Mayhew, 8. Ryan Burrows (captain)

Replacements: 16. Ross Graham (on for Mayhew), 17. Lewis Boyce (on for Beech, 53), 18. Sione Faletau (on for Cusack, 40), 19. Ben West (on for Smith, 53), 20. Richard Beck (on for Stedman, 45), 21. Max Green (on for Davies), 22. Max Wright (on for Casson).


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
RUGBYPASS+ RFU tackle-law debacle highlights rugby's existential crisis RFU tackle-law debacle highlights rugby's existential crisis