Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



Welsh rugby enveloped in its latest existential crisis

As Wayne Pivac teeters on the edge of finding new gainful employment after a series of disappointing results, the wider-lens story tells of dysfunction and frustration

RugbyPass+ Home

Former Springbok scrumhalves dominate 12 new Hall of Fame inductees

By Sam Smith
(Photo by Duif du Toit/Gallo Images/Getty Images and Clive Mason/Getty Images)

The ninth wave of inductees into the RugbyPass Hall of Fame have been revealed as the finest haflbacks ever to grace the game were recognised on Thursday.


Home to the greatest rugby players of all-time, the RugbyPass Hall of Fame acknowledges and recognises the outstanding efforts of the trailblazers from the amateur era through to the global stars who light up the sport to this day.

The amalgamation of rugby’s top players from the amateur and professional eras has been reflected in the RugbyPass Hall of Fame’s induction announcement, from which 12 of rugby’s best halfback have been unveiled as inductees.

Among the headline names inducted into the RugbyPass Hall of Fame include World Cup-winning All Blacks Aaron Smith, and David Kirk. Justin Marshall is the third Kiwi halfback in this Hall of Fame induction.

Smith debuted in 2012 and was part of the All Blacks squad that lifted the Webb Ellis Cup from the second consecutive tournament in 2015, while Justin Marshall made 81 test appearances from 1995-2005. Kirk is famous for captaining New Zealand to their first World Cup in 1987 before abruptly retiring at age 26.

There are three Australian halfbacks in the class, including two more World Cup winners in Nick Farr-Jones (1991) and George Gregan (1999) while Will Genia is a Wallaby Centurian with 110 test caps to his name.

The Springboks are also represented by three World Cup winners in former South African legend Joost Van Der Westhuisen (1995), Ruan Pienaar and Fourie du Preez (2007). Pienaar was equally adept at flyhalf but saw 34 of his 45 starts for the Springboks at 9 over his 88-test career.


Other inductees include 2003 World Cup-winning scrumhalf Matt Dawson is England’s representative, while legendary Welsh scrumhalf Gareth Edwards adds to his mythical reputation with a Hall of Fame nod.

Edwards was described as as ‘arguably the greatest player to ever don a Welsh jersey’, whom he played for between 1967 and 1978 winning three Grand Slams.

Former Argentine captain Agustin Pichot rounds out the 12 halfbacks inducted into the RugbyPass Hall of Fame.

Of all those included in the RugbyPass Hall of Fame, only the players with the most votes in each position will make the Fan 1st XV, a team made up of only the best players ever to have played rugby.


The door remains open for other players to become RugbyPass Hall of Famers, so register now to have your say and vote for your favourite inductee in the Fan 1st XV.

Current RugbyPass Hall of Fame Fan 1st XV
1. Os du Randt (South Africa, 1994-2007)
2. Sean Fitzpatrick (New Zealand, 1986-1997)
3. Owen Franks (New Zealand, 2009-2019)
4. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa, 2012-present)
5. Victor Matfield (South Africa, 2001-2015)
6. Jerome Kaino (New Zealand, 2004-2017)
7. Richie McCaw (New Zealand, 2001-2015)
8. Zinzan Brooke (New Zealand, 1987-1997)
9. Induction 09.12.2021
10. Induction 10.12.2021
11. Induction 13.12.20221
12. Induction 14.12.2021
13. Induction 15.12.2021
14. Induction 16.12.2021
15. Induction 17.12.2021

Coach: 20.12.2021
Referee: 21.12.2021
Stadium: 22.12.2021


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
RUGBYPASS+ England feel the hurt and Eddie Jones feels the heat England feel the hurt and Eddie Jones feels the heat