Ellis Genge escapes citing over Sexton incident
Genge wrestled with Sexton under the posts at the Aviva Stadium, with footage appearing to show him run his elbow across the Ireland captain’s head.
For a disciplinary hearing to be triggered the offence has to be worthy of a red card but the deadline for a citing has passed, meaning Genge has no case to answer.
Bundee Aki deserved to be sent off – dangerous hit, but it was a genuine attempt at a tackle on Vunipola.
— Tommy Rooney (@TomasORuanaidh) March 20, 2021
Although producing a number of strong carries, with fracas with Sexton – who was lying beneath him – has been criticised on social media.
Audio from the game revealed the England loosehead admitting to elbowing the Irishman. Sexton can be heard telling referee Mathieu Raynal: “Sir, he elbowed me in the face,” before Genge tells Sexton: “Yeah I did. I did.”
Sign up to our mailing list for a weekly digest from the wide world of rugby.Sign Up Now