Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World
NZ NZ
Back

Citing commission confirm decision on Leinster's Cian Healy

By Online Editors
Cian Healy to be cited following Saturday’s clash with Exeter

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Cian Healy has today been cited following an incident with Exeter Chief’s Luke Cowan-Dickie at the weekend.

ADVERTISEMENT

Healy made contact with the face of Cowan-Dickie using his forearm during their Champions Cup clash on Saturday.

In a statement released by the European Professional Club Rugby:

“The EPCR has received a citing complaint against the Leinster Rugby prop, Cian Healy, following his club’s Champions Cup, Round 4 match against Exeter Chiefs at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday, 16 December 2017.”

“Healy, who was shown a yellow card following the incident by match referee, Pascal Gauzère (France), is alleged to have charged into a ruck and to have struck the head of the Exeter Chiefs hooker, Luke Cowan-Dickie, with his forearm in the 17th minute of the match in contravention of Law 10.4 (h).”

“The complaint was made by the match Citing Commissioner, Patrice Frantschi (France).”

“Gareth Graham (England), Chairman, Rod McKenzie (Scotland) and Leon Lloyd (England) have been appointed as the independent Disciplinary Committee for the hearing which will take place in London on Wednesday, 20 December.”

ADVERTISEMENT

The incident resembled the red card shown by Nigel Owens to Taufa’ao Filise earlier in the month, for which the Tongan initially received a six-week ban before being reduced to three.

This would mean Healy could be in line to miss his sides interprovincial fixtures over the festive period and possibly some Champions cup games.

 

The prop could ultimately receive a ban of anywhere between 2 and 52 weeks if found guilty.

ADVERTISEMENT

Exeter’s Mitch Lees has also been cited for a separate incident in which he is “alleged to have charged into a ruck and to have struck the head of the Leinster Rugby prop, Cian Healy, with his head in the 40th minute of the match in contravention” of the same Law 10.4 (h).

 

Comments

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
ADVERTISEMENT
TRENDING
TRENDING Owen Farrell 'very unhappy' with Eddie Jones' latest decision Farrell 'unhappy' with Jones' decision
Search