Join our mailing list now! Join our mailing list now!
Close Notice
Show scores

New Zealand-South Africa LIVE


Recap: All Blacks v Springboks LIVE | Rugby Championship

Follow all the action from the second round of The Rugby Championship live on RugbyPass as New Zealand host South Africa at the Westpac Stadium in Wellington.

Keep up to date with the latest score, stats and join the conversation anywhere in the world from in our Live Match Centre (click here).

If the Springboks beat the All Blacks by more than 15 points, the Kiwis will lose their No1 ranking to Wales, who would take over the mantle for the first time in their history.

The matchday Kiwi squad selected by Steve Hansen sees a wealth of experience return following last weekend’s opening round 20-16 win away to Argentina. 

Joe Moody, Codie Taylor and Owen Franks form the starting front row, with last week’s front row of Ofa Tuungafasi, Dane Coles and Angus Ta’avao on the bench.

(Continue reading below…)

Video Spacer

Samuel Whitelock joins Brodie Retallick in the starting second row, Shannon Frizell is at blindside flanker, with Vaea Fifita moving to the bench, while Matt Todd is at seven and captain Kieran Read at the back of the scrum. Dalton Papalii provides loose forward cover on the bench.

In the backs, TJ Perenara will start at half-back and Aaron Smith is on the bench, Beauden Barrett moves to full-back to make way for Richie Mo’unga at 10, Sonny Bill Williams returns at 12 inside Jack Goodhue at centre.

Rieko Ioane is on the left wing, and with Barrett at full-back, Ben Smith moves to the right wing. Anton Lienert-Brown and George Bridge are the other back reserves.

Meanwhile, South Africa boss Rassie Erasmus has named a much-changed side from the one that defeated the Wallabies last weekend by 35-17 in Johannesburg.

Eben Etzebeth (lock), last weekend’s Bok captain, and Pieter-Steph du Toit (loose forward) are the only two forwards retained from that win, with Makazole Mapimpi (wing) the only backline player in the starting line-up who also started.

The rest of the Springbok starting line-up consists mainly of the group of players who travelled to New Zealand two days before the opening round match.

View this post on Instagram

A tough four years for the two time Rugby World Cup winner #RugbyWorldCup #RugbyChampionship

A post shared by RugbyPass (@rugbypass_) on

Willie le Roux returns at full-back while Cheslin Kolbe is drafted in on the right wing. Damian de Allende and Lukhanyo Am form a familiar-looking midfield pairing and they will play next to Handré Pollard (fly-half) and Faf de Klerk (scrum-half).

Vermeulen, du Toit and Kwagga Smith (flanker) form the loose trio, with the former Blitzbok speedster set to earn his second start following his international debut last year against Wales in Washington.

Franco Mostert partners Etzebeth in the second row and Malcolm Marx (hooker) is joined in the front row by Steven Kitshoff and Frans Malherbe.

The forwards’ bench consists of Bongi Mbonambi, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, RG Snyman and Francois Louw, while Herschel Jantjies, Frans Steyn and Jesse Kriel are the replacement backs.

NEW ZEALAND – 15. Beauden Barrett (caps 74); 14. Ben Smith (77), 13. Jack Goodhue (7), 12. Sonny Bill Williams (51), 11. Rieko Ioane (24); 10. Richie Mo’unga (9), 9. TJ Perenara (55); 1. Joe Moody (37), 2. Codie Taylor (41), 3. Owen Franks (106), 4. Brodie Retallick (76), 5. Samuel Whitelock (108), 6. Shannon Frizell (4), 7. Matt Todd (17), 8. Kieran Read – captain (118). Reps: 16. Dane Coles (61), 17. Ofa Tuungafasi (27), 18. Angus Ta’avao (4), 19. Vaea Fifita (10), 20. Dalton Papalii (2), 21. Aaron Smith (83), 22. Anton Lienert-Brown (34), 23. George Bridge (1).

SOUTH AFRICA – 15. Willie le Roux (53 caps); 14. Cheslin Kolbe (7), 13. Lukhanyo Am (6), 12. Damian de Allende (37), 11. Makazole Mapimpi (5); 10. Handré Pollard (39), 9. Faf de Klerk (21); 1. Steven Kitshoff (37), 2. Malcolm Marx (24), 3. Frans Malherbe (29), 4. Eben Etzebeth (76), 5. Franco Mostert (29), 6. Kwagga Smith (1), 7. Pieter-Steph du Toit (47), 8. Duane Vermeulen – captain (46). Reps: 16. Bongi Mbonambi (27), 17. Tendai Mtawarira (108), 18. Trevor Nyakane (38), 19. RG Snyman (12), 20. Francois Louw (66), 21. Herschel Jantjies (1), 22. Frans Steyn (57), 23. Jesse Kriel (41).

WATCH: The insightful RugbyPass documentary with Nemani Nadolo, the Fijian playing at Montpellier

Video Spacer

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

Recap: All Blacks v Springboks LIVE | Rugby Championship
Search Loading