Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global
New Zealand New Zealand
France France

Six changes for WXV3 champions Ireland, including one new cap

By Liam Heagney
Ireland line-up versus England last April in Cork (Photo by Tim Clayton/Corbis via Getty Images)

Ireland have named a team showing six changes – including new cap Katie Corrigan – for Saturday’s Guinness Six Nations opener away to France in Le Mans.


The Irish clinched WXV3 title success in Dubai in their last outing, coming from behind to defeat Spain 15-13 on October 28 and round off that tournament with a three-game winning streak.

Their return to action 17 weeks later will see them take the field against the French with four changes to their backs and two to their pack.

Video Spacer

England Women’s coach John Mitchell on the Red Roses squad

Video Spacer

England Women’s coach John Mitchell on the Red Roses squad

Lauren Delany is at full-back in place of the benched Meabh Deely while the 19-year-old Corrigan will debut on the right wing instead of Natasja Behan.

The Irish have also changed their half-backs with Nicole Fowley and Aoibheann Reilly taking over from Dannah O’Brien and Molly Scuffil-McCabe, who are included as replacements.

Womens Six Nations
France Women's
38 - 17
Ireland Women's
All Stats and Data

In the pack, co-captain Sam Monaghan misses out as she is continuing her return-to-play protocols. Her place at lock has gone to Hannah O’Connor, while the other pack change is at back row where Aoife Weafer is in for the benched Grace Moore.

Head coach Scott Bemand told the IRFU website: “We are all very excited to get our Guinness Women’s Six Nations campaign underway and we come into this weekend ready to put a confident performance out there.


“We have had a good block of preparation with players returning and we are ready to compete. I’m looking forward to seeing all the hard work come together on Saturday in Stade Marie-Marvingt.”

Ireland (vs France, Saturday)
15. Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)
14. Katie Corrigan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
13. Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)
12. Aoife Dalton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
11. Beibhinn Parsons (Blackrock College/Connacht)
10. Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/Connacht)
9. Aoibheann Reilly (Blackrock College/Connacht)
1. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
2. Neve Jones (Gloucester-Hartpury)
3. Christy Haney Blackrock College/Leinster)
4. Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College/Munster)
5. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College/Leinster)
6. Aoife Wafer (Blackrock College/Leinster)
7. Edel McMahon (Exeter Chiefs) Captain
8. Brittany Hogan (Old Belvedere /Ulster)

16. Sarah Delaney (Blackrock College/Leinster)
17. Niamh O’Dowd (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
18. Sadhbh McGrath (Cooke/Ulster)
19. Fiona Tuite (Old Belvedere/Ulster)
20. Grace Moore (Saracens/IQ Rugby)
21. Molly Scuffil-McCabe (Leinster)
22. Dannah O’Brien (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
23. Meabh Deely (Blackrock College/Connacht)



Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


As of today you will need to reset your password to log into RugbyPass to continue commenting on articles.

Please click the ‘Login’ button below to be redirected and start the account validation and password reset process.

Thank you,


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

TRENDING Ex-Super Rugby flyer helps eliminate Ma’a Nonu & Matt Giteau’s Legion Ex-Super Rugby flyer helps eliminate Ma’a Nonu & Matt Giteau’s Legion