Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Six changes for Wasps as they name team despite administration

By Liam Heagney
(Photo by Tony Marshall/Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Wasps have shrugged off the devastating news that they are to appoint an administrator to help find a solution to their financial woes by naming their team on schedule on Thursday for Friday night’s Gallagher Premiership match away to Bath.


Huge uncertainty blew up about the club’s future when it emerged on Wednesday evening that they had filed to the High Court for the appointment of an administrator.

Such a move has left Wasps open to automatic relegation from the Premiership but Lee Blackett’s squad have reacted to the cash crisis by mucking in and continuing with their preparations for the round three match at The Rec.

Video Spacer

Rugby Headline News from the Northern Hemisphere.
Video Spacer

Wasps are currently eleventh on the 13-team Premiership table following defeats in their opening two matches to Gloucester and Bristol and they have named a team for Bath showing six changes from last weekend’s loss to the Bears.

The fit-again Jacob Umaga returns from injury to replace Ali Crossdale at full-back while Francois Hougaard is chosen at right wing in place of the benched Zach Kibirige.


Up front, the entire starting front row has been altered with Tom West, Dan Frost and Biyi Alo all picked ahead of Robin Hislop, Tom Cruse and John Ryan – the two props, Hislop and Ryan, drop to the bench. Meanwhile, there is one change in the back row with Nizaam Carr included for Alfie Barbeary, a selection that has resulted in Tom Willis switching from blindside to No8.


WASPS (vs Bath, Friday): 15. Jacob Umaga; 14. Francois Hougaard, 13. Sam Spink, 12. Burger Odendaal, 11. Josh Bassett; 10. Charlie Atkinson, Will Porter; 1. Tom West, 2. Dan Frost, 3. Biyi Alo, 4. Joe Launchbury (capt), 5. Kiran McDonald, 6. Nizaam Carr, 7. Jack Willis. 8 Tom Willis. Reps: 16. Gabriel Oghre, 17. Robin Hislop, 18. John Ryan, 19. Tim Cardall, 20. Ben Morris, 21. Dan Robson, 22. Ryan Mills. 23. Zach Kibirige


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING The 7 notable omissions from England's 3-day training squad The 5 major omissions from England's 36-man training squad