Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Scotland make 6 changes for the Wallabies, name 2 rookies on bench

By Liam Heagney
(Photo by PA)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Gregor Townsend has named a Scotland team to face the Wallabies on Sunday that shows six changes following last Saturday’s Autumn Nations Series win over Tonga at Murrayfield. With no limitations on player release for this weekend’s fixture, unlike last week when Gallagher Premiership and Top 14 players were unavailable for selection, there were always going to be alterations to the Scottish team that started the 60-14 victory.


Skipper Stuart Hogg, Chris Harris, Duhan van der Merwe, Finn Russell, Grant Gilchrist and Sam Skinner are included at the expense of Kyle Steyn, Sione Tuipulotu, Rufus McLean, Blair Kinghorn, Jamie Hodgson and Rob Harley.

The chosen team features only one change in the starting XV from the side that ended the 2021 Guinness Six Nations with that historic win against France in Paris, loosehead prop Pierre Schoeman earning his second cap after injury ruled out Rory Sutherland.

Video Spacer

Will Genia guests on RugbyPass All Access
Video Spacer
Will Genia guests on RugbyPass All Access

There is also the potential for two new caps off the bench with Sale hooker Ewan Ashman and Bath back-rower Josh Bayliss named.

Townsend said: “While there were several positives to take from the win against Tonga we face a very different opponent in Australia this week. They are coming into this fixture clearly off the back of good results and full of confidence, so we will need to bring focus, accuracy and aggression for the full 80 minutes.

“We have been able to select an experienced team with the availability of our players outside of Scotland and aim to use the remaining Autumn Nations Series fixtures to build our game through improving week on week. This is a great opportunity to test ourselves against an in-form side, who are also one of the leading teams in world rugby.”


SCOTLAND (vs Australia, Sunday)
15. Stuart Hogg – Exeter Chiefs – (Captain) – 85 caps
14. Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby – 20 caps
13. Chris Harris – Gloucester Rugby – 28 caps
12. Sam Johnson – Glasgow Warriors – 19 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe – Worcester Warriors – 10 caps
10. Finn Russell – Racing 92 – (Vice-Captain) – 55 caps
9. Ali Price – Glasgow Warriors – 43 caps
8. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 14 caps
7. Hamish Watson – Edinburgh Rugby – 42 caps
6. Jamie Ritchie – Edinburgh Rugby – (Vice-Captain) – 28 caps
5. Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby – 45 caps
4. Sam Skinner – Exeter Chiefs – 12 caps
3. Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 39 caps
2. George Turner – Glasgow Warriors – 18 caps
1. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby – 1 cap
16. Ewan Ashman – Sale Sharks – Uncapped
17. Jamie Bhatti – Glasgow Warriors – 19 caps
18. Oli Kebble – Glasgow Warriors – 9 caps
19. Jamie Hodgson – Edinburgh Rugby – 1 cap
20. Josh Bayliss – Bath Rugby – Uncapped
21. George Horne – Glasgow Warriors – 14 caps
22. Adam Hastings – Gloucester Rugby – 23 caps
23. Kyle Steyn – Glasgow Warriors – 2 caps


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Stephen Perofeta impresses at No 10 as Roger Tuivasa-Sheck shifts roles Perofeta impresses at 10 as Tuivasa-Sheck