Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

'Robbery': Fans outraged over World Rugby's Team of the Decade as All Blacks and England stars miss out

By Online Editors
(Photo by Hannah Peters/Getty Images)

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

The announcement of World Rugby’s Team of the Decade on Tuesday has brought with it an avalanche of criticism from fans over the selection and non-selection of certain players.


The game’s global governing body released a XV of the best players in test rugby from between 2010 and 2019 at the World Rugby Awards Special Edition, as selected by an awards panel.

Featuring some of the games biggest names such as newly-crowned World Rugby Player of the Decade and two-time World Cup-winning All Blacks captain Richie McCaw, there was no shortage of star power across the composite side.

Video Spacer

Owen Farrell takes blame for England kick | Autumn Nations Cup
Video Spacer
Owen Farrell takes blame for England kick | Autumn Nations Cup

Other iconic figures named in the side include New Zealand’s Dan Carter and Ma’a Nonu, South Africa’s Bryan Habana, Ireland’s Brian O’Driscoll, Australia’s David Pocock and Italy’s Sergio Parisse.

There were some notable names left out of the squad, though, with fans quick to take to Twitter in response to World Rugby’s announcement to highlight where the selection panel had gone wrong in their decision-making.

Perhaps the most questionable decision came at halfback, with Ireland’s Conor Murray winning the nod over World Cup-winning All Blacks scrumhalf Aaron Smith.

The latter has been widely regarded as one of, if not the, best No. 9 on the planet since his test debut in 2012, leaving many fans perplexed as to how the 97-cap veteran missed out.


Another contentious points of selection came on the wing, with some criticising the addition of Welsh wing George North ahead of powerhouse All Blacks sensation Julian Savea.

It’s a similar story in the midfield, with many unsure of O’Driscoll’s inclusion given he retired in 2014, meaning he missed most of the decade’s international rugby.

Some pointed to former All Blacks centre Conrad Smith and current Wales star Jonathan Davies as two worthy replacements.

Meanwhile, many would argue former Italy captain Sergio Parisse’s selection at No.8 is validated due to his longevity and excellence over the years, but others were insistent that ex-All Blacks skipper Kieran Read should have been picked instead.


The team still featured a total of seven All Blacks through McCaw, Carter, Nonu, Brodie Retallick, Sam Whitelock, Ben Smith and Owen Franks, which is far more than what England can boast.

No players from the world number two side made the cut for the XV, with England perhaps paying the price of a quarter-final exit at the 2011 World Cup followed by disastrous campaign in 2015 where they bombed out in pool play on their home turf.

Still, it was a decade that saw the English finish runners-up at last year’s World Cup and claim three Six Nations titles, during which time stars such as Owen Farrell and Maro Itoje made their name on the global stage.

The lack of English flavour left some fans aggrieved, while others defended the selections of the likes of North and Murray despite widespread criticism on social media.


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Sam Burgess takes fresh swing at English rugby and Jamie Roberts Sam Burgess takes fresh swing at English rugby and Jamie Roberts