Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

Live blog: Super Rugby Pacific round eight

By Finn Morton
(Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

The eighth round of Super Rugby Pacific continues on Saturday when the Waratahs taken on the Western Force in Sydney. Follow all the action in our live blog below.


Team News

The Hurricanes have made a few changes to their run-on side ahead of their crunch clash with the undefeated Chiefs at Sky Stadium.

Hooker Asafo Aumua will start in the No. 2 jersey, while Dane Coles will come off the bench in his 300th first-clash match.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

As for the backline, talented inside centre Peter Umaga-Jensen will start his first match of the season, and will partner All Black Jordie Barrett in the midfield.

Coming off the bye, the Chiefs coach Clayton McMillan has named a star-studded side for the highly anticipated New Zealand derby.

All Black Pita Gus Sowakula will start in the backrow alongside Chiefs co-captain Sam Cane and No. 8 Luke Jacobson.

The Chiefs’ backline certainly packs a punch too, with Damian McKenzie and Shaun Stevenson both named to start.


Ahead of the later game tonight, the Waratahs have made three changes to their starting XV.

The most significant change comes at blindside flanker, with Australian international Lachie Swinton set to return in the No. 6 jumper.

Jake Gordon and Ben Donaldson will line up alongside each other in the halves, and rising star Max Jorgensen will start at fullback.

The Western Force have also made three changes to their starting side, including an intriguing selection in the backrow.

Former Maori All Black Jacob Norris will make his Force debut on Saturday night, when they take on the NSW Waratahs at Allianz Stadium.


MVP round eight votes (3-2-1)

Moana Pasifika vs Queensland Reds – Tate McDermott (Reds), Fraser McReight (Reds), Suliasi Vunivalu (Reds)

ACT Brumbies vs Fijian Drua – Ben O’Donnell (Brumbies), Rob Valetini (Brumbies), Ollie Sapsford (Brumbies)

Hurricanes vs Chiefs – Damian McKenzie (Chiefs), Cam Roigard (Hurricanes), Cortez Ratima (Chiefs)

MVP candidates leader board (updated)

12 points – Richie Mo’unga (Crusaders)

11 points – Shaun Stevenson (Chiefs)

10 points – Damian McKenzie (Chiefs)

9 points – Cam Roigard (Hurricanes)

8 points – Leicester Fainga’anuku (Crusaders)

6 points – Aaron Smith (Highlanders), Brodie Retallick (Chiefs), Emoni Narawa (Chiefs), Hamish Stewart (Force), Jordan Petaia (Reds), Jordie Barrett (Hurricanes), Lachlan Lonergan (Brumbies), Mark Telea (Blues), Richard Hardwick (Rebels), Rob Valetini (Brumbies), Tevita Ikanivere (Drua)

5 points – Salesi Rayasi (Hurricanes)

4 points – Beauden Barrett (Blues), Carter Gordon (Rebels), Iosefo Masi (Drua), Josh Flook (Reds), Langi Gleeson (Waratahs), Sam Gilbert (Highlanders), Tom Wright (Brumbies)

3 points – Andy Muirhead (Brumbies), Bailyn Sullivan (Hurricanes), Ben O’Donnell (Brumbies), Dalton Papali’i (Blues), Du’Plessis Kirifi (Hurricanes), Finlay Christie (Blues), Hoskins Sotutu (Blues), James Slipper (Brumbies), Kini Naholo (Hurricanes), Lachie Anderson (Rebels), Ryan Lonergan (Brumbies), Salestino Ravutaumada (Drua), Tate McDermott (Reds), Thomas Umaga-Jensen (Highlanders)

2 points – Ardie Savea (Hurricanes), Brad Weber, Billy Harmon (Highlanders), Codie Taylor (Crusaders), Dallas McLeod (Crusaders), Danny Toala (Moana), David Havili (Crusaders), Fraser McReight (Reds), Harry Wilson (Reds), Jamie Booth (Hurricanes), Kitione Salawa (Drua), Levi Aumua (Moana), Luke Reimer (Brumbies), Mark Nawaqanitawase (Waratahs), Nic White (Brumbies), Rhys Van Nek (Brumbies), Taj Annan (Reds), Tane Edmed (Waratahs), Tim Anstee (Force)

1 point – Abraham Pole (Moana), Alex Nankivell (Chiefs), Anton Segner (Blues), Cortez Ratima (Chiefs), Eroni Sau (Drua), Fetuli Paea (Highlanders), Josh Moorby (Hurricanes), Kalaveti Ravouvou (Drua), Len Ikitau (Brumbies), Liam Wright (Reds), Max Jorgensen (Waratahs), Nepo Laulala (Blues), Nikora Broughton (Highlanders), Noah Lolesio (Brumbies), Ollie Callan (Force), Ollie Sapsford (Brumbies), Sam Whitelock (Crusaders), Samipeni Finau (Chiefs), Samisoni Taukei’aho (Chiefs), Stephen Perofeta (Blues), Suliasi Vunivalu (Reds)


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE Eddie Jones turns to university talent in second coming as Japan coach Eddie Jones turns to university talent in second coming as Japan coach