Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Scotland name Kinghorn at fly-half against Argentina

By Josh Raisey
Blair Kinghorn /Getty

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Blair Kinghorn is set to start at fly-half for Scotland this Saturday against Argentina at the Estadio 23 de Agosto in place of Finn Russell.


Russell has been rested for the tour by Gregor Townsend alongside captain Stuart Hogg. Edinburgh’s Kinghorn will therefore take the No.10 jersey, while Northampton Saints Rory Hutchinson will fill in at fullback. Lock Grant Gilchrist will also lead the side in place of Hogg.

Kinghorn took the reins from Russell in the final game of the Six Nations this year against Ireland after the Racing 92 No.10 was dropped to the bench for disciplinary reasons, and it looks as though the 25-year-old is Townsend’s preferred choice again. With Adam Hastings also being ruled out of the tour with a hamstring injury, Ross Thompson is the back-up fly-half on the bench.

Video Spacer

Andy Farrell and Bundee Aki on the loss to Maori All Blacks | Ireland post-match press conference
Video Spacer
Andy Farrell and Bundee Aki on the loss to Maori All Blacks | Ireland post-match press conference

Elsewhere in the squad, flanker Luke Crosbie is set to make his first start for Scotland having won his only cap from the bench last year against Tonga. Glasgow Warriors’ player of the season Rory Darge has also recovery from a knee injury to make the bench as the back-row option behind Crosbie. Meanwhile, fellow flanker Hamish Watson misses out on the squad altogether as he awaits his 50th cap for his country.

Scotland team to face Argentina in Jujuy
15. Rory Hutchinson – Northampton Saints – 5 caps
14. Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby – 27 caps
13. Mark Bennett – Edinburgh Rugby – 24 caps
12. Sam Johnson – Glasgow Warriors – 24 caps
11. Duhan van der Merwe – Worcester Warriors – 16 caps
10. Blair Kinghorn – Edinburgh Rugby – 31 caps
9. Ali Price – Glasgow Warriors – (Vice-Captain) – 51 caps
1. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby – 9 caps
2. George Turner – Glasgow Warriors – 25 caps
3. Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 47 caps
4. Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby – (Captain) – 53 caps
5. Jonny Gray – Exeter Chiefs – 67 caps
6. Magnus Bradbury – Edinburgh Rugby – 18 caps
7. Luke Crosbie – Edinburgh Rugby – 1 cap
8. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 21 caps

16. Ewan Ashman – Sale Sharks – 2 caps
17. Rory Sutherland – Worcester Warriors – 18 caps
18. Javan Sebastian – Scarlets – 1 cap
19. Sam Skinner – Exeter Chiefs – 20 caps
20. Rory Darge – Glasgow Warriors – 4 caps
21. Ben White – London Irish – 4 caps
22. Ross Thompson – Glasgow Warriors – 1 cap
23. Sione Tuipulotu – Glasgow Warriors – 5 caps


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
RUGBYPASS+ The All Blacks playmaking battle that never was The All Blacks playmaking battle that never was