Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



The major Six Nations concern for Wales and England ahead of World Cup 2023

Wales and England might regret stepping onto the coaching merry-go-round.

RugbyPass+ Home

Julian Savea gets the nod for Lions' position switch to further his transition

By Online Editors
Julian Savea. (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

Wellington Lions head coach, Leo Crowley, has made a handful of changes to his side ahead of their clash against Manawatu at Sky Stadium, including a positional switch for former All Black wing Julian Savea.


Saturday marks the last of the round-robin fixtures, before the Mitre 10 Cup marks its semi-finalists for 2020. The Lions will be hoping to bounce back after suffering a 34 – 18 loss to Hawke’s Bay a week ago, which also cost them a chance at the Ranfurly Shield.

Head coach, Leo Crowley, says whilst the team was disappointed at that result, this week poses new challenges and so they have had to bury the hatchet and move on.

Video Spacer

The Aotearoa Rugby Pod discuss their Performance of the Week
Video Spacer
The Aotearoa Rugby Pod discuss their Performance of the Week

“The mindset this week is to beat Manawatu and remain in the premiership. It can be nothing else. This competition is so tight you can be near the top one week and bottom the next,” he said.

Among Crowley’s changes, Caleb Delany returns from injury to take up a starting position as lock. But it’s further back that’s seen the biggest re-jig.

Julian Savea moves into second-five, meaning Pepesana Patafilo finds himself back on the wing.

Savea has scored two tries in seven games for the Lions in his return season for the side. Although he hasn’t found the try line often, he leads the side in tackle busts with 11 and sits third in defenders beaten with seven.


After making his comeback to New Zealand Rugby through club rugby as a midfielder, he now has the chance to push further ahead with his transition to 12 before next year’s Super Rugby Aotearoa season with the Hurricanes.

The Hurricanes announced earlier this year they had re-signed the older Savea brother for next year after he had joined the side as a late squad replacement for Ben Lam.

Another Hurricane Billy Proctor comes forward to the midfield to partner Savea and Trent Renata has been named as starting fullback.

The Wellington Lions team to face the Manawatu Turbos at Sky Stadium 2.05pm Saturday is:


1              Xavier Numia
2              James O’Reilly
3              Alex Fidow
4              Vaea Fifita
5              James Blackwell
6              Caleb Delany
7              Mateaki Kafatolu
8              Teariki Ben-Nicholas
9              Kemara Hauiti-Parapara
10           Jackson Garden-Bachop
11           Pepesana Patafilo
12           Julian Savea
13           Billy Proctor
14           Wes Goosen
15           Trent Renata

16           Tyrone Thompson
17           Morgan Poi
18           Kaliopasi Uluilakepa
19           Naitoa Ah Kuoi
20           Sam Smith
21           Connor Collins
22           Vince Aso
23           Connor Garden-Bachop

Listen to the latest episode of the Aotearoa Rugby Pod below:


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING The Hugo Keenan verdict on the overturned Freddie Steward red card The Hugo Keenan verdict on the overturned Freddie Steward red card