Northern Edition
Select Edition
Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global
New Zealand New Zealand
France France

Immanuel Feyi-Waboso cops ban with consequences for England tour

Immanuel Feyi-Waboso of England looks on prior to the rugby international match between England XV and France XV at Allianz Stadium on June 21, 2025 in London, England. (Photo by Patrick Khachfe/Getty Images)

Immanuel Feyi-Waboso has been handed a two-match suspension following his red card against a France XV, casting doubt on the Exeter Chiefs wing’s participation in England’s upcoming summer tour of Argentina and the United States.

ADVERTISEMENT

The 22-year-old was dismissed in the 34th minute of Saturday’s uncapped warm-up fixture at Twickenham for a dangerous high tackle on Antoine Hastoy. The offence, upgraded from yellow to red on review, was cited for a high degree of danger with no mitigation.

Feyi-Waboso’s case was heard as part of the new streamlined disciplinary process, which came into effect last week. A World Rugby statement reads: “In determining the sanction, the FPRC reviewed the matter, including all submissions and footage, the FPRC determined that Feyi-Waboso’s actions were contrary to Law 9.13 (dangerous tackle), and that they carried a high degree of danger.”

“Therefore a three-match suspension was proposed to the player, reduced to two matches subject to successful completion of the Coaching Intervention Programme. The Player has accepted the sanction.”

The ban for Feyi-Waboso means he will be unavailable for two of England’s three-Test trip to Argentina and the USA, which begins against Argentina in La Plata on July 5 and concludes with a match against the United States in Washington DC on July 19.

It’s a significant blow both for the player and for head coach Steve Borthwick, who had earmarked the electric finisher for a key role on tour after his return from a long-term shoulder injury.

“You know Manny Feyi-Waboso well enough,” Borthwick said after Saturday’s 26-24 defeat, “this is a good guy who just tries his heart out and has left the field today and it didn’t go the way he wanted it to, so he’s gutted in the changing room.”

ADVERTISEMENT

It has also dealt a blow to any hopes of a late British & Irish Lions call-up for the winger, as he will have played just 33 minutes of rugby and will only become available for selection once again in mid-July.

French forward Cameron Woki, who was also red-carded during the game at Twickenham, will have his case go before a Disciplinary Committee for a full disciplinary hearing.

Related


News, stats, videos and more! Download the new RugbyPass app, in collaboration with the British and Irish Lions, on the App Store (iOS) and Google Play (Android) now!

ADVERTISEMENT
LIVE

{{item.title}}

Trending on RugbyPass

Comments

4 Comments
A
Augustus 22 days ago

This guy is a hot head as well as very injury prone. I bet Wales are so glad he jumped ship to England.

T
Toaster 22 days ago

Two games

Unreal

G
GH 22 days ago

TWO GAMES!!! Either you are English or from a third rated nation like France, you get different results…

J
J Marc 22 days ago

Cameron Woki has refused the same ban ,so tuesday he will be banned for 4 weeks…

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free
ADVERTISEMENT

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

F
Flankly 35 minutes ago
Rassie Erasmus defends controversial innovation with accusation directed at Italy

Esterhuizen was about a metre offside when Libbok took the kick.

It may feel that way, but it depends on the specifics of how the Laws are interpreted, in particular the question of when Open Play begins.


Offside is very specifically defined for other set pieces and structured situations (scrum, lineout, ruck, maul). Not sure why, but there is no kickoff-specific definition for offside in the Laws. So if offside exists during kickoff then it must be covered by a more general law.


There is an offside definition for Open Play, but there is a question of whether or not this is an Open Play situation. Prior to Open Play starting there is no offside. Part of the Open Play definition is that it is after the kickoff, but what does “after the kickoff” mean?


You can say that Open Play starts the moment that the ball is kicked, and it seems this is the assumption by many people. But a reasonable alternative reading is that the kickoff is not complete, and Open Play has not started, until the whole kickoff sequence is complete, including the ball going 10m, landing/being-caught in field, etc.

One reason that this is a credible interpretation is that there would be no need for Law 12.5 (that players on the kickers side must be behind the kicker) if Open Play starts when the ball is kicked. In that case players in front of the kicker would be instantly offside and subject to the usual offside rules and sanctions. Law 12.5 is only needed because there is no Open Play (and therefore no offside) until the kickoff sequence is completed.


My guess is that Rassie and team went through this in-depth, possibly with advice from WR, concluding that this is not an offside situation and is entirely governed by the Law 12.5 sanction. That sanction requires a scrum and provides no alternative choices for the opposition (such as would have been the case if they simply kicked it short, kicked it into touch etc).


Smarter folk than me can figure out whether the above interpretation is definitive, but it is certainly not obvious to me that Esterhuizen was offside. On balance I would suggest that the game was not in Open Play and that there were therefore no offside rules in place. In that case it all comes down to the Law 12.5 sanction of opposition scrum, for not being behind the kicker.


BTW - WR can fix this by simply adding that the opposition can have a choice of a retake or a scrum, as they can for other kickoff situations. Italy would have picked the retake, no doubt.

18 Go to comments
TRENDING
TRENDING Rugby World Cup regulars torn apart by Uruguay in Montevideo Rugby World Cup regulars thrashed by Uruguay in Montevideo