Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



Welsh rugby enveloped in its latest existential crisis

As Wayne Pivac teeters on the edge of finding new gainful employment after a series of disappointing results, the wider-lens story tells of dysfunction and frustration

RugbyPass+ Home

Carbery and Henshaw ruled out as Ireland take on Australia

Robbie Henshaw of Ireland leaves the pitch with an injury during the Bank of Ireland Nations Series match between Ireland and Fiji at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin. (Photo By Brendan Moran/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Ireland’s Joey Carbery and Robbie Henshaw have been ruled out of Saturday’s Bank of Ireland Nations fixture against Australia.


Fly-half Carbery will complete return to play protocols at Munster following his removal from the win against Fiji on Saturday for a head injury assessment (HIA).

Centre Henshaw’s hamstring issue means he will continue his rehabilitation at Leinster, while full-back Jimmy O’Brien will complete the HIA process on Monday and is expected to be available to train after that.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

Leinster lock Joe McCarthy returns to the squad having completed his return to play protocol, while Connacht centre Bundee Aki – who has trained with the squad for the last few weeks – is available for selection again having completed an eight-match suspension and the coaching intervention programme.

Players who sustained knocks against South Africa – Johnny Sexton, James Ryan, Andrew Porter, Josh Van Der Flier and Hugo Keenan – will be re-integrated as they return to fitness.


Ireland squad:


Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 40 caps
Robert Baloucoune (Ulster/Enniskillen) 4 caps
Caolin Blade (Connacht/Galwegians) 1 cap
Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) 6 caps
Jack Crowley (Munster/Cork Constitution) 1 cap
Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 22 caps
Mack Hansen (Connacht) 8 caps
Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 24 caps
Michael Lowry (Ulster/Banbridge) 1 cap
Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor) 8 caps
Calvin Nash (Munster/Young Munster) *
Jimmy O’Brien (Leinster/Naas) 2 caps
Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 46 caps
Johnny Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 109 caps
Jacob Stockdale (Ulster/Lurgan) 35 caps

Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 26 caps
Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 35 caps
Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 32 caps
Max Deegan (Leinster/Lansdowne) 2 caps
Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 22 caps
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf) 62 caps
Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) 7 caps
Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 120 caps
Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy) 68 caps
Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 30 caps
Jeremy Loughman (Munster/Garryowen) 1 cap
Joe McCarthy (Leinster/Dublin University) *
Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 88 caps
Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 4 caps
Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 47 caps
Cian Prendergast (Connacht/Corinthains) 1 cap
James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 47 caps
Dan Sheehan (Leinster/Lansdowne) 12 caps
Nick Timoney (Ulster/Banbridge) 3 caps
Kieran Treadwell (Ulster/Ballymena) 10 caps
Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 44 caps


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
RUGBYPASS+ Now is the Autumn of our discontent... Now is the Autumn of our discontent...