Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

All Black pair out for Crusaders, Sam Cane returns for Chiefs

The Crusaders will be without All Blacks Ryan Crotty and Sam Whitelock for their match against the Chiefs on Saturday night. The week 16 fixture will be the last round of the Super Rugby competition before teams break for the June international window.


Head Coach Scott Robertson has named his side for the match, which sees a reshuffle in both the loose forwards and the midfield.

Prop Joe Moody returns from suspension to join Codie Taylor and Michael Alaalatoa in the front row. Wyatt Crockett, in his 200th Crusaders game, will provide cover on the bench.

Scott Barrett is set to play his 50th Crusaders game on Saturday night, and will line up alongside Quinten Strange at lock. Matt Todd will again resume the captaincy this week at openside.

Video Spacer

Jordan Taufua – who was a late withdrawal last week due to a tight calf – will line up at No. 8, which means Heiden Bedwell-Curtis moves to blindside flanker. Ethan Blackadder provides cover on the bench in place of Pete Samu.

Tim Bateman has been replaced in the midfield this week due to a hamstring injury, with Jack Goodhue to start at second five-eighth and Seta Tamanivalu moving in-field to centre. Following his successful return to club rugby last weekend, Israel Dagg takes a spot on the right wing.

The Crusaders will also welcome back winger Jone Macilai who makes a successful return from injury and will wear the No. 23 jersey.


The Chiefs made just one change from their 23 that defeated the Waratahs last weekend.

Sam Cane returns from injury to replace Matt Matich in the No. 20 jersey in Colin Cooper’s only change.


1. Joe Moody, 2. Codie Taylor (VC), 3. Michael Alaalatoa, 4. Scott Barrett, 5. Quinten Strange, 6. Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, 7. Matt Todd (C), 8. Jordan Taufua, 9. Bryn Hall, 10. Richie Mo’unga, 11. George Bridge, 12. Jack Goodhue, 13. Seta Tamanivalu, 14. Israel Dagg, 15. David Havili.
Reserves: 16. Andrew Makalio, 17. Chris King, 18. Donald Brighouse, 19. Luke Romano, 20. Ethan Blackadder, 21. Mitchell Drummond, 22. Mitchell Hunt, 23. Jone Macilai.


1. Karl Tu’inukuafe, 2. Nathan Harris, 3. Angus Ta’avao, 4. Brodie Retallick, 5. Michael Allardice, 6. Luke Jacobson, 7. Mitchell Karpik, 8. Liam Messam, 9. Brad Weber, 10. Damian McKenzie, 11. Sean Wainui, 12. Charlie Ngatai, 13. Anton Lienert-Brown, 14. Toni Pulu, 15. Solomon Alaimalo.
Reserves: 16. Liam Polwart, 17. Sam Prattley, 18. Jeff Thwaites, 19. Jesse Parete, 20. Sam Cane, 21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22. Marty McKenzie, 23. Shaun Stevenson.


In other news:

Video Spacer


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE Rikki Swannell: 'It was the most visceral reaction I’ve ever seen or heard in sport.' Rikki Swannell: 'It was the most visceral reaction I’ve ever seen or heard in sport.'