Get a Super Rugby Aotearoa Rest-of-Season Pass now for just £19.99! Super Rugby Aotearoa now just £19.99!
Close Notice
Show scores
Premiership / Round 10
Pos. Teams Total
1 Tasman Makos 33
2 Auckland 36
3 Bay of Plenty 31
4 Waikato 29
5 Wellington 29
6 Canterbury 29
7 North Harbour 27
Championship / Round 10
Pos. Teams Total
1 Hawkes Bay 36
2 Northland 24
3 Otago 30
4 Taranaki Bulls 24
5 Southland Stags 16
6 Counties Manukau 14
7 Manawatu 9

New Highlanders signing Solomon Alaimalo will play for a new team in Super Rugby and at provincial level in 2021.

25 Feb, 17:46
There are currently no live games. Check the schedule for the next match.
There are currently no upcoming games. Check the schedule for the next match.
There are currently no played games. Check the schedule for the next match.

Tournament Info

Watch some of New Zealand’s finest domestic rugby union teams compete for the Mitre 10 Cup.

The Mitre 10 Cup is the premier domestic rugby union competition in New Zealand. It’s contested between 14 teams who represent their provinces. These teams are divided equally between the Premiership Division and the Championship Division.

Rugby’s Mitre 10 Cup was launched back in 2006 when the Air New Zealand Cup replaced the National Provincial Championship, which had been in place since 1976. As a result, it became New Zealand rugby’s first ever professional rugby competition. Since then, the competition has been named after several sponsors. Although it continued as the Air New Zealand Cup until 2009, it was known as the ITM Cup until 2016 when it became the Mitre 10 Cup.

Mitre 10 rugby has existed in various forms over the years, but the competition has kept the same format since 2013. Since then, the Mitre 10 Cup has contained two divisions and a promotion/relegation system. Each of these divisions contains seven teams and each team plays everyone in their own division and four teams in the other division. The purpose of this is to maintain some traditional provincial rivalries. As a result, certain unions in the competition still play for inter-union trophies. For example, Wellington face Auckland for the Fred Lucas Memorial Trophy.

At the end of the divisional stage of the Mitre 10 Cup, two semi-finals also take place in the Premiership and Championship respectively, with the first-placed team taking on the fourth-placed team and the second-placed team facing the third-placed team.  The two winners then play the final at the home ground of the top surviving seed. The winner of the Premiership is crowned champions, while the lowest-ranked team is relegated to the Championship. The winner of the Championship is promoted to the Premiership.

The 14 rugby teams that compete in the Mitre 10 Cup are all professional teams that represent their union. As every team is each union’s top representative, the tournament is scheduled so that players who compete in Super Rugby can play.

In the history of Mitre 10 rugby, Canterbury have been the most successful side. They’ve won the title on nine occasions, including six titles in a row. Other teams who have won the tournament include Tasmania and Auckland (two each) and Waikato and Taranaki (once each). Wellington have reached the final six times, but they’ve been beaten on each occasion.

Read on to learn even more about Mitre 10 rugby. You can see all the latest news, fixtures and rugby union Mitre 10 cup results right here.

Mitre 10 Cup

Top News

It shows how good the Crusaders have been since Scott Robertson took over as coach in 2017 that Saturday night's loss to the Chief…

Sam Smith
Sam Smith
17 Apr, 23:34

Western Force coach Tim Sampson is hopeful superstar fullback Rob Kearney will be able to return for Friday night's season-definin…

17 Apr, 21:48

Chiefs captain Brad Weber isn't getting carried away following his side's victory over the table-topping Crusaders on Saturday eve…

Tom Vinicombe
Tom Vinicombe
17 Apr, 21:34

It wasn't too long ago that Chiefs supporters used to hold their breath whenever hooker Samisoni Taukei'aho had the ball in his ha…

Tom Vinicombe
Tom Vinicombe
17 Apr, 18:41

With no visible reason to challenge, Crusaders captain Scott Barrett threw a last ditch referral under the new rules which allow f…

Sam Smith
Sam Smith
17 Apr, 17:29

Warren Gatland has questioned the sense of English clubs demanding additional compensation for releasing their players.

17 Apr, 16:09