Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



Back from the abyss, Bath's revival is gathering steam

Johan van Graan has quietly set about improving every facet of the West Country club and results are starting to come

RugbyPass+ Home

'You have no respect for us' - Jaco Peyper lashes Bok duo over back chat

By Ian Cameron
Boks lashed

Referee Jaco Peyper felt he had to reprimand two Springboks during last night’s United Rugby Championship (URC) derby between the Bulls and the Sharks in Durban.


The C Cell Sharks fought their way to a 30-16 victory over the Bulls as the URC belatedly made its debut on South African soil on Friday.

Tension boiled over at times, with the current and former Springbok No.2s getting stuck into each other.

Video Spacer

Guess the celebrity Rose | Adebayo Akinfenwa | England Rugby
Video Spacer
Guess the celebrity Rose | Adebayo Akinfenwa | England Rugby

Peyper eventually lost patience with both Bulls’ hooker Bismarck du Plessis and current Springboks and C Cell Sharks hooker Bongi Mbonambi at the Jonsson Kings Park Stadium.

During a pause in play he called the players over for a brief dressing down.

“I need both hookers,” said Peyper. “Cheers lads, I know you’re captain now [he said to Du Plessis]. The both of you, you speak to the officials at the moment, like you have no respect for us.

“It’s both of you. I know you’re big characters and good players, both Springboks, so please, come back to your values.”


“It was always going to be a ding-dong battle, and it’s always going to be a little spicy as well – you’re talking about two teams who have played each other many times in big games,” Bulls head coach Jake White said after the game. “So, it was going to be no different this week.”

Meanwhile, the SA Rugby match official panels for 2022 were confirmed on Friday, with 22 referees named on the National Panel following a virtual selection and grading meeting by the SA Rugby Referees Department and the South African Rugby Referees Association Executive.

National Panel: Christopher Allison, Aimee Barrett-Theron, Johre Botha, Griffin Colby, Morne Ferreira, Stephan Geldenhuys, AJ Jacobs, Cwengile Jadezweni, Jaco Kotze, Mpho Matsaung, Pumzile Mbewu, Ruhan Meiring, Paul Mente, Vusi Msibi, Sean Muller, Bulelani Naka, Dylen November, Jaco Peyper, Rasta Rasivhenge, Archie Sehlako, Divan Uys, Marius van der Westhuizen.


Women’s Panel: Angelic Bezuidenhout, Cameron Dyers, Yohane Halgryn, Maria Mabote, Siyanda Pikoli, Akhona Mncolomba, Ashleigh Murray-Pretorius, Tshepi Moropa, Zoe Naude, Bulela Qwane, Giana Viljoen.

Sevens Squad: Morne Ferreira, AJ Jacobs, Ashleigh Murray-Pretorius.

TMO Panel: Stuart Berry, Ben Crouse, Christie du Preez, Quinton Immelman, Marius Jonker, Egon Seconds.

– additional reporting PA


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Draw for the World Schools Festival sees schoolboy powerhouses meet Draw for the World Schools Festival sees schoolboy powerhouses meet