Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

World Rugby Pacific Four Series 2024 announced with the USA, Australia, and New Zealand as hosts

OTTAWA, CANADA - JULY 5: New Zealand's Ruahei Demant, Australia's Michaela Leonard, Canada's Sophie de Goede and USA's Kate Zackary pose for pictures during the World Rugby Pacific Four Series Captains Photocall at Parliament Hill on July 5, 2023 in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. (Photo by Andrea Cardin - World Rugby/World Rugby via Getty Images)

The World Rugby Pacific Four Series will return for a fourth year with Australia, New Zealand, and the USA all hosting matches between 27th April and 25 May 2024.


The Black Ferns have emerged victorious in the last two editions of the series and are currently unbeaten in the competition since they joined in 2022. This year, qualification for both WXV 1 and the Women’s Rugby World Cup 2025 are both on the line, so there’s everything to play for in this year’s Pacific Four Series. 

With the Black Ferns’ and Canada’s qualification for the Women’s Rugby World Cup 2025 already secured as RWC 2021 semi-finalists, Australia and USA will have the opportunity to book their ticket by sealing the singular 2025 qualification spot up for grabs for the next best ranked team. 

The 2024 Pacific Four series will once again provide qualification for WXV 1, with the top three teams joining the top three Guinness Women’s Six Nations 2024 teams.

Last year, this saw New Zealand, Australia, and Canada join England, France, and Wales for the first edition of WXV 1 while the USA competed in WXV 2.

The 2024 Pacific Four series will kick off in the USA for a standalone fixture between the USA and WXV 1 runners-up Canada. 

New Zealand, who hosted the inaugural WXV 1 competition last year and the Women’s Rugby World Cup the year before, will once again welcome Australia, Canada, and the USA this year. The defending World Cup champions will play each of the three teams on consecutive weekends between 11-25 May.


Australia, who secured memorable victories over France and Wales in WXV 1, will go into the 2024 Pacific Four series with new coach Jo Yapp at the helm as they go in search of a RWC 2025 place. They will host two matches, one against Canada and one against the USA on 11 and 17 May.

World Rugby Head of Women’s Competitions Alison Hughes said: “It’s great to see the Pacific Four Series return for a fourth year. This highly anticipated tournament provides a quality high-performance competition for the four teams competing and with WXV and Women’s Rugby World Cup 2025 qualification up for grabs, it’s really all to play for.”

World Rugby Pacific Four Series 2024 match schedule

Saturday, 27 April

USA v Canada

Saturday, 11 May

New Zealand v USA

Australia v Canada

Friday, 17 May

Australia v USA

Sunday, 19 May

New Zealand v Canada


Saturday, 25 May

New Zealand v Australia

Host city and venue details are to be confirmed shortly and updated on the World Rugby and host Union websites.


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


1 Comment
andrew 145 days ago

Black ferns get all 3 games at home
They hosted last World Cup and first wxv 1 aswell
I know canada hosted few games last year but surely other nations should get a chance absolute disgrace

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

TRENDING Eddie Jones reacts to Japan's heavy defeat to England Eddie Jones reacts to Japan's heavy defeat to England