Vote now for the latest inductees into the RugbyPass Hall of Fame! Vote now in the Hall of Fame!
Close Notice
ADVERTISEMENT
Back

Two Wasps coaches cited after tempestuous incidents versus Exeter

By PA

Trending on RugbyPass

More News More News

Two members of Wasps’ coaching staff have been charged by the Rugby Football Union following last Saturday’s Gallagher Premiership clash against Exeter. Backs transition coach Scott Barrow and head of performance Pete Atkinson were both ordered from the field of play by referee Wayne Barnes.

ADVERTISEMENT

Barrow and Atkinson, who came to Wasps following a spell working in Italy, have now been charged with “conduct prejudicial to the interests of the union and the game” said the RFU and they will appear before an independent disciplinary panel on Tuesday night.

The RFU said that Barrow had been charged for interfering with play by back-heeling the ball away from the pitch and blocking an Exeter player from retrieving the ball in the second half of the Premiership match at Wasps’ Coventry Building Society Arena.

Video Spacer

Eddie Jones explains the thinking behind his latest England squad
Video Spacer
Eddie Jones explains the thinking behind his latest England squad

Henry Slade went after a ball that had been thrown away by a Wasps player when Barrow, who was standing behind the posts, found himself in the England centre’s way. A tussle ensued which then ignited a larger scuffle against the sponsor boards involving around 20 players.

After getting a rundown of the incident from the TMO, referee Barnes was heard saying: “That water carrier over there does not come back on the pitch.”

Atkinson, meanwhile, must answer for comments made towards Barnes following an Exeter first-half try in a match that the Chiefs won by 27-23. The disciplinary panel will be chaired by Mike Hamlin, with Gareth Graham and Mitch Read.

ADVERTISEMENT

The Barrow incident is the second high profile situation regarding water carriers in recent weeks. During a recent Rugby Championship match between the Springboks and the All Blacks, referee Matthew Carley was forced to tell South Africa’s water carrier to desist from harassing the linesman. Springboks boss Jacques Nienaber apologised in the aftermath, admitting that the waterboy was acting on the direction of his coaches’ box.

RugbyPass Hall of Fame

Comments

Join RugbyPass+ now and be apart of the conversation with all-new commenting!

Join Now
ADVERTISEMENT

Two Wasps coaches cited after tempestuous incidents versus Exeter

Search