Springboks fans float conspiracy theory around final French try
Springboks fans are floating a conspiracy theory around France’s final try in their dramatic Autumn Nations Series victory over South Africa in Stade Velodrome in Marseille.
Fabien Galthie’s men ran out 30-26 winners in a match full of incident, with referee Wayne Barnes handing out a red card apiece in a busy night for the English official.
Yet it was the final French try that has really upset a section of South African rugby fans. Rookie prop Sipili Falatea squeezed over in the 76th minute, with some arguing that there was more than one movement from the foward in doing so.
— RugbyPass (@RugbyPass) November 12, 2022
Barnes was confident that the try was good, appearing to award it on the spot. It underwent a TMO review none-the-less as France prepared to take the conversion, at which point things got a little weird.
Barnes, who was reffing his 101st Test, lost communication with the TMO for the course of the review. At the end of the issue, Barnes could be heard saying: “Don’t ever do that again”.
Some fans are now suggesting that the French broadcaster had played some unknown role in the failure of the comms.
SA journalist Brendan Nel wrote: “Convenient losing comms with the tmo. Strange.”
Convenient losing comms with the tmo. Strange
— Brenden Nel (@BrendenNel) November 12, 2022
Another account wrote: “Wayne Barnes awarded a double movement try and I think they had to pretend like the communication was lost with the TMO.”
Wayne Barnes awarded a double movement try and I think they had to pretend like the communication was lost with the TMO ?? then claimed that Le Roux played a forward pass, no replay no nothing. What’s rugby? We meet in the word cup. There they don’t lose comms ?
— ?? Vladimir (@ChrisLinfordE) November 12, 2022
“Clearly ball was placed and the push from french support players took the man and ball over the line. Never a try! TMO very conveniently was off comms and could not be heard. But from the sidelines Barnes gets a message try is good bit still no comms from TMO,” wrote another.
Clearly ball was placed and the push from french support players took the man and ball over the line. Never a try! TMO very conveniently was off comms and could not be heard. But from the sidelines Barnes gets a message try is good bit still no comms from TMO
— desigan govender (@Desi0027) November 12, 2022
The France TV is a special thing … cutting comms after that double movement.
— IG: johngoliath (@JohnGoliath82) November 12, 2022
Quick replay of the French try when the TMO "unfortunately" lost comms. pic.twitter.com/KZHV2G4Q0S
— Sportbilly (@sportbillysays) November 12, 2022
Strange coincidence that the TMO comms went missing bang on when a French try was being questioned.
I really hope we don't have this carry on during WC2023
— Patrick Hogan (@phog6189) November 12, 2022
A good lesson to learn for the WC is that the French will try every trick in the book. Whether it's the TV producer hiding camera angles to benefit them or cutting comms with TMO when a crucial decision is on the line.
Got to be prepared/expect those
— G-Mac (@GreggMac11) November 12, 2022
How much scrutiny the theory would hold up to appears unclear, not least given the TMO was about to rule the try good.
Join free and tell us what you really think!Join Free