Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global

South Africa make wholesale changes again for series decider against Wales

By Josh Raisey
Wales' full-back Liam Williams (2nd R) congratulates Wales' Josh Adams (C) after scoring a try as South Africa's flanker Pieter-Steph du Toit (R) and South Africa's lock Eben Etzebeth (2nd L) react during an international rugby union match between South Africa and Wales at the Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein on July 9, 2022. (Photo by Phill Magakoe / AFP) (Photo by PHILL MAGAKOE/AFP via Getty Images)

South Africa head coach Jacques Nienaber has made ten changes to the starting XV that lost to Wales last weekend for the series decider in Cape Town this Saturday.


Lock Eben Etzebeth has retained his starting berth from the first and second Tests and is set to earn his 100th cap. Hooker Bongi Mbonambi also comes back into the starting XV, and is set to earn his 50th cap.

“We are very proud of Eben and Bongi for their achievements, although it would be remiss of us as a team for that to out-shadow the fact that we need to win on Saturday to seal the series against Wales,” said Nienaber about the milestones.

Video Spacer

“The plan, go to Cape Town, seal the series” – South Africa rugby back themselves for the final test

Video Spacer

“The plan, go to Cape Town, seal the series” – South Africa rugby back themselves for the final test

“Wales have shown over the years and in the last two matches that they are real fighters, and it will require a top-class performance from us on Saturday to register a victory and ultimately clinch the series.

“That said, Eben and Bongi have been true stalwarts to Springbok rugby, and we hope that we can make this a special occasion for them. No-one wants to remember losing their 100th or 50th Test, so we need to do everything we can to win the match.”

The Sharks-bound lock is one of five players that have retained their place from the 13-12 loss last Saturday alongside Pieter-Steph du Toit, Jaden Hendrikse, Handre Pollard and Trevor Nyakane, who has moved from tighthead prop last week to loosehead. That was Wales’ first ever win over the Springboks on South African soil, but the world champions can still clinch the series with a win in Cape Town.

Springbok team to face Wales in Cape Town:
15 – Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers) – 17 caps, 12 pts (1t, 2c, 1p)
14 – Cheslin Kolbe (Toulon) – 19 caps 18pts, 50pts (10t)
13 – Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks) – 27 caps, 25 pts (5t)
12 – Damian de Allende (Wild Knights) – 59 caps, 35 pts (7t)
11 – Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks) – 26 caps, 100 pts (20t)
10 – Handre Pollard (Leicester Tigers) – 61 caps, 613 pts (6t, 83c, 131p, 4d)
9 – Jaden Hendrikse (Cell C Sharks) – 3 caps, 5 pts (1t)
8 – Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers) – 12 caps, 0 pts
7 – Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz) – 59 caps, 25 pts (5t)
6 – Siya Kolisi (captain, Cell C Sharks) – 64 caps, 30 pts (6t)
5 – Lood de Jager (Wild Knights) – 57 caps, 25 pts (5t)
4 – Eben Etzebeth (Cell C Sharks) – 99 caps, 15 pts (3t)
3 – Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers) – 47 caps, 5pts (1t)
2 – Bongi Mbonambi (Cell C Sharks) – 49 caps, 50 pts (10t)
1 – Trevor Nyakane (Racing 92) – 55 caps, 5pts (1t)


16 – Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears) – 48 caps, 55 pts (11t)
17 – Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers) – 60 caps, 5pts (1t)
18 – Vincent Koch (Wasps) 33 caps, 0 pts
19 – Franco Mostert (Honda Heat) – 52 caps, 5pts (1t)
20 – Kwagga Smith (Shizuoka Blue Revs) – 20 caps, 5 pts (1t)
21 – Elrigh Louw (Vodacom Bulls) – 1 cap, 0pts
22 – Faf de Klerk (Canon Eagles) – 37caps, 25pts (5t)
23 – Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz) – 73 caps, 60 pts (12t)


Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


Snash 710 days ago

that front row tho

Gray 711 days ago

Go Boks !!!

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

TRENDING Frans Steyn makes waves with response to Israel Dagg comments Frans Steyn makes waves with response to Israel Dagg comments