Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global
New Zealand New Zealand
France France

One All Black and one Springbok nominated for World Rugby player of the year

By Josh Raisey
Eben Etzebeth of South Africa wins the line-out during the Summer International match between New Zealand All Blacks v South Africa at Twickenham Stadium on August 25, 2023 in London, England. (Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

The nominees for the World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year have been announced, with the World Cup finalists the All Blacks and South Africa both having one nominee each.


No8 Ardie Savea has been nominated from the All Blacks, while lock Eben Etzebeth has made the list from the Springboks. The pair have been joined by Ireland’s Bundee Aki after a barnstorming World Cup and France captain Antoine Dupont who was named the Six Nations Player of the Championship earlier this year.

The winner will be announced on Sunday October 29, the day after the World Cup final.

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “All those nominated today deserve not only our congratulations but also our thanks for everything they have contributed, on and off the field, to inspire fans and players worldwide, driving rugby forward in 2023 in line with our sport’s values.

Video Spacer

All Black defence coach Scott McLeod talks about tactics for a wet-weather World Cup Final

Video Spacer

All Black defence coach Scott McLeod talks about tactics for a wet-weather World Cup Final

“The strength of rugby is its players, coaches, officials and volunteers, and these shortlists provide a vivid snapshot of a sport that is thriving globally in its 200th year. One day after we crown the Rugby World Cup 2023 champions, we look forward once again to uniting our global family and presenting a wider cast of winners with the ultimate accolades in our sport – the World Rugby Awards.”


Here are the nominees for the other categories:

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year
Michaela Blyde (New Zealand)
Maddison Levi (Australia)
Tyla Nathan-Wong (New Zealand)
Reapi Ulunisau (Fiji)

World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year
Leroy Carter (New Zealand)
Rodrigo Isgro (Argentina)
Marcos Moneta (Argentina)
Akuila Rokolisoa (New Zealand)

International Rugby Players Men’s Try of the Year
Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland, v England on 4 February)
Damian Penaud (France, v Ireland on 11 February)
Hugo Keenan (Ireland, France on 11 February)
Vinaya Habosi (Fiji, v Georgia on 1 October)


World Rugby Coach of the Year
Andy Farrell (Ireland)
Ian Foster (New Zealand)
Simon Raiwalui (Fiji)
Jacques Nienaber (South Africa)

World Rugby Men’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year
Louis Bielle-Biarrey (France)
Manie Libbok (South Africa)
Mark Tele’a (New Zealand)
Tamaiti Williams (New Zealand)

Fans around the world will be able to watch live and free on RugbyPass TV, where exclusive pre-show coverage will begin at 18:00 CET (GMT+1).



Join free



Trending on RugbyPass


As part of a series of planned improvements, we will need you to reset your RugbyPass password from 24/07/24 to continue commenting on articles.

You don’t need to change anything until that time.

Thank you,


ruckaa 269 days ago

Corlina if your heart is Black ,blood is Black head is Black then act like it . HARDEN UP yeah theyre big ,yeah theyre mean yeah refs can be hard on us yeah they beat ……. SO WHAT Bad news for them cause theyre playin the All BLACKS . THE most successful professional team of all time , they aint no fluke Keep the faith Corlina our boys are good .real good , and they could not be more prepared

corlina 269 days ago

I don't think that our all Black team will win the world cup.
My heart is Black , my blood is Black , my head is Black but remember the Springboks have never lost a world cup final, be realistic .

CuzzyG 269 days ago

Would be great to feel confident about beating South Africa in this final. I hope I’m wrong but, More sin bins for NZ means more penalties for Sth Africa. Ardie Savea would win player of the year if the All Blacks win with 14 men for more than 20 mins. My blood runs black for our Men in Black, but I can see a massive amount of pressure coming from SAF, similar to the semi vs England, experienced as the ABs are, it’s the referee who calls the shots. ARDIE SAVEA doesn’t try to sway a referee or harp on about decisions. He leads the team with his actions and is my best and fairest of 2023. I hope NZ can retain Dalton Papaili ‘I and Shannon Frizzel and Tyrell Lomax

Ruby 269 days ago

Seems weird nominating Nienaber when everyone knows that he's not the real head coach. Libbok nominated yet dropped from the match day 23 for the final. Player of the year will be determined by the outcome of the final.

Tom 270 days ago

Not much to choose between them but I'd go Savea, I think he's been phenomenal, there seems to be 2 of him on the pitch. One with a number 8 on his back and one with a 7.


Imo but all have been world class.

Turlough 270 days ago

If inspiring conduct for fans is a metric surely Foster is out for backing NZ players abusing Irish fans in Stade de France?

Logan17 270 days ago

Looks as though if New Zealand wins the final Savea/ Foster and if South Africa win, then Etzebeth/ Nienaber

CT 270 days ago

No brainer this one definetly Etzebeth

Load More Comments

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

FEATURE Japan embrace chaos theory in bid for Olympic surprise Japan embrace chaos theory in bid for Olympic surprise