Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World



Back from the abyss, Bath's revival is gathering steam

Johan van Graan has quietly set about improving every facet of the West Country club and results are starting to come

RugbyPass+ Home

Ireland release 13 players from training squad to play in PRO14 derbies

Ireland flanker Josh van der Flier.

Ireland have retained a 23-man squad for a two-day training camp and released 13 players to play for their provinces in the Guinness PRO14. Andy Farrell’s side picked up their first win of this year’s Guinness Six Nations by beating Italy 48-10 on Saturday but do not return to action until facing Scotland at Murrayfield on Sunday, March 14.


The four players who suffered knocks in Rome – Jordan Larmour (hip), Tadgh Furlong (ankle), Dave Kilcoyne (head) and Ronan Kelleher (ankle) – will remain with the national team to undergo further assessment.

Farrell’s men are scheduled to train on Thursday and Friday in Dublin, according to the update from the Irish Rugby Football Union.

Video Spacer

“I thought we were outstanding” Sexton and Farrell delighted with performance | Six Nations | RugbyPass
Video Spacer
“I thought we were outstanding” Sexton and Farrell delighted with performance | Six Nations | RugbyPass

There are two Irish derbies in the PRO14 this weekend, with Munster hosting Connacht on Friday evening at Thomond Park, before Leinster take on Ulster the following day in Belfast.

Scrum-half Craig Casey, who made his debut as a replacement at Stadio Olimpico, has been allowed to temporarily rejoin Munster, along with Andrew Conway, Shane Daly and Chris Farrell, while Bundee Aki, Ultan Dillane and Dave Heffernan have returned to Connacht.

Meanwhile, Leinster quartet Ed Byrne, Ross Byrne, Rhys Ruddock and Josh Van Der Flier could come up against Ulster duo Stuart McCloskey and Tom O’Toole at Kingspan Stadium.

After travelling to Edinburgh to take on Gregor Townsend’s men, Ireland complete their Six Nations campaign at home to England on March 20.

Ireland Two Day Camp Squad – Thursday 4-5th March, 2021 – IRFU HPC
Billy Burns (Ulster) 6 caps
Keith Earls (Munster) 91 caps
Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 8 caps
Robbie Henshaw (Leinster) 50 caps
Hugo Keenan (Leinster) 9 caps
Jordan Larmour (Leinster) 27 caps
James Lowe (Leinster) 5 caps
Conor Murray (Munster) 88 caps
Garry Ringrose (Leinster) 33 caps
Jonathan Sexton (Leinster) 97 caps
Ryan Baird (Leinster) 1 cap
Tadhg Beirne (Munster) 20 caps
Jack Conan (Leinster) 18 caps
Will Connors (Leinster) 8 caps
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster) 47 caps
Cian Healy (Leinster) 107 caps
Iain Henderson (Ulster) 61 caps
Rob Herring (Ulster) 19 caps
Ronan Kelleher (Leinster) 9 caps
Dave Kilcoyne (Munster) 41 caps
Andrew Porter (Leinster) 35 caps
James Ryan (Leinster) 34 caps
CJ Stander (Munster) 49 caps
Returning to Provinces
Bundee Aki (Connacht) 30 caps
Ed Byrne (Leinster) 4 caps
Ross Byrne (Leinster) 12 caps
Craig Casey (Munster) 1 cap
Andrew Conway (Munster) 24 caps
Shane Daly (Munster) 1 cap
Ultan Dillane (Connacht) 18 caps
Chris Farrell (Munster) 14 caps
Dave Heffernan (Connacht) 5 caps
Stuart McCloskey (Ulster) 4 caps
Tom O’Toole (Ulster) uncapped
Rhys Ruddock (Leinster) 27 caps
Josh van der Flier (Leinster) 30 caps

Click on the image below to sign up for Super Rugby Aotearoa on RugbyPass: 


Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
RUGBYPASS+ Team of the Autumn Series Team of the Autumn Series