Select Edition

Northern Northern
Southern Southern
World World

Latest Feature

'Let's return to reality - Ireland must exercise caution'

Irish expectation soars as Andy Farrell's team sweeps all in its path, but cool heads are needed if they are to heed mistakes of the past

Ireland forced to make 2 late changes to their starting XV

By Liam Heagney
(Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)

Ulster pair Iain Henderson and Jacob Stockdale have been ruled out of the Ireland team for Friday night’s Autumn Nations Cup opener against Wales in Dublin.


Second row Henderson had been recalled by Andy Farrell after he missed the recent conclusion to the Guinness Six Nations due to a suspension picked up for a needless red card while playing in the PRO14 last month with Ulster. 

The IRFU have reported that an unspecified medical issue has ruled Henderson, resulting in the promotion of reserve lock Quinn Roux from the bench. 

Video Spacer

Simon Zebo tells a crazy story about France’s Yoann Huget
Video Spacer
Simon Zebo tells a crazy story about France’s Yoann Huget

Meanwhile, Stockdale presented with calf soreness and he was also ruled out following a scan. He has been replaced by Andrew Conway, who wasn’t initially in the matchday 23, with Hugo Keenan switching to Stockdale’s full-back position to allow Conway play on the wing.

Tadhg Beirne, who started last time out in the Six Nations loss to France, has been added to the bench.

IRELAND: H Keenan (Leinster); A Conway (Munser), C Farrell (Munster), R Henshaw (Leinster), J Lowe (Leinster); J Sexton (Leinster, capt), J Gibson-Park (Leinster); C Healy (Leinster), R Kelleher (Leinster), A Porter (Leinster), Q Roux (Connacht), J Ryan (Leinster), P O’Mahony (Munster), J Van Der Flier (Leinster), C Doris (Leinster).


Replacements: D Heffernan (Connacht), E Byrne (Leinster), F Bealham (Connacht), T Beirne (Munster), W Connors (Leinster), C Murray (Munster), B Burns (Ulster), K Earls (Munster).

WALES: L Halfpenny (Scarlets); Liam Williams (Scarlets), J Davies (Scarlets), O Watkin (Ospreys), J Adams (Cardiff Blues); D Biggar (Northampton), G Davies (Scarlets); R Carre (Cardiff Blues), R Elias (Scarlets), T Francis (Exeter), W Rowlands (Wasps), A W Jones (Ospreys, capt), S Lewis-Hughes (Cardiff Blues), J Tipuric (Ospreys), T Faletau (Bath).

Replacements: E Dee (Dragons), W Jones (Scarlets), S Lee (Scarlets), J Ball (Scarlets), A Wainwright (Dragons), Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues), C Sheedy (Bristol), G North (Ospreys).

Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France).




Join free and tell us what you really think!

Join Free
TRENDING Another English club go into administration Another English club go into administration