Join our mailing list now! Join our mailing list now!
Close Notice
Show scores

Jones on dropping Te'o


Eddie Jones explains why he dropped Ben Te'o

England coach Eddie Jones has explained why he dropped centre Ben Te’o, the only non-enforced change to the England team to face Wales in Twickenham this weekend.

England made two changes to the side that hammered Italy in Rome, but the Worcester man misses out, with Bath centre Jonathan Joseph taking his place.

Speaking on the England Rugby website, Jones said England need to play in a more ‘adaptable’ style:

“We want to be an adaptable team and to be able to play to the conditions, referee and game as sometimes the game controls you,” said Jones.

“Wales will try and play a particular way but in terms of winning the game we want to make sure our set piece is dominant and our defence is ferocious.”

Regarding Te’o, he said it was a ‘gut feeling’.

“It’s a gut feeling on my behalf, Ben worked really hard to get back fit (after a lengthy injury lay off), but experience tells me sometimes in their second game back players are a little bit flat,” said Jones.

“JJ has been in good form in training. He’s powerful, quick and will defend well.

“He can do a job for us from the start and Ben will come and give us power and impetus, just as he did last week.”

Video Spacer

Eddie Jones reveals why he’s selected Joseph over Te’o

Danny Care starts at half back and will become England’s most capped scrum half (78), moving past 2003 Rugby World Cup winner Matt Dawson.

Following an injury to Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers) Richard Wigglesworth has been named on the bench. The 34-year-old Saracens half back last played for England in 2015.

Team to play Wales

Starting 15
15 Mike Brown (Harlequins 65 caps)
14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby 29 caps)
13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby 36 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens 54 caps)
11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers 30 caps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers 41 caps)
9 Danny Care (Harlequins 77 caps)

1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens 45 caps)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints 90 caps)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers 78 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps 48 caps)
5 Maro Itoje (Saracens 15 caps)
6 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints 62 caps)
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins 60 caps)
8 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs 4 caps)

16 Jamie George (Saracens 21 caps)
17 Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs 1 cap)
18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs 6 caps)
19 George Kruis (Saracens 22 caps)
20 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby 4 caps)
21 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens 27 caps)
22 Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors 9 caps)
23 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs 24 caps)

Sign up to our mailing list here and we’ll keep you up to the minute with weekly updates from the world of rugby.

Eddie Jones explains why he dropped Ben Te'o
Search Loading